An ailing patient should have easy access to his or her doctor’s record of treating similarly afflicted

patients. Through gaining such access, the ailing patient may better determine whether the doctor is

competent to treat that medical condition.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the recommendation

and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, describe

specific circumstances in which adopting the recommendation would or would not be advantageous and

explain how these examples shape your position.

Doctors are, in the truest essence, life-savers. They take an oath for putting the life of the patient above everything else. While a patient might want to know about the reputation of a doctor before visiting him or her, having easy access to the doctor's previous treatment records must not be a determining factor in getting treatment from that doctor.

When a patient goes to see a doctor, he or she usually is well informed about that doctor's reputation. The reputation of a doctor is not directly related to the doctor's previous treatment records. Usually, a doctor gains fame or reputation through his treated patients. As such, this reputation can be a valid measure of the doctor's ability. However, the exact treatment records of a doctor's patient is confidential and certainly cannot be allowed to go public. This information also will not help other prospective patients to determine the doctor's competence. For example, let us consider the case of Dr.Stuart Law, a world famous cancer surgeon, who treats and operates on terminally ill cancer patients. If we were to get access to his exact treatment records, we might find that there are more number of unsuccessful operations than successful ones. Looking at such records one might think that he is not competent enough which would definitely be a blatant mistake. The primary reason for his unsuccessful surgeries is the fact that he only operates on terminally ill cancer patients who otherwise would not have any chance of survival. Hence, a patient cannot properly determine the competence of a doctor just by looking at his previous treatment records.

Furthermore, a patient does not have proper medical knowledge about the treatment methods that doctors employ. As a result, even if the patient had the treatment record of his doctor, he would not be able to identify whether the record is a positive one or negative. Such an example can be found in the autobiography of multi-billionaire businessman Mark Ziegler. He once checked the treatment history of his personal doctor and found that most of the doctor's patient had recovered from treatment. However, he did not benefit much from the doctor's treatment due to the fact that his ailment was different from the patients who's records he checked.

On the contrary, in certain specific situations, a patient might need to consider looking into the doctor's history. A doctor with less reputation may not be well qualified to treat patients with complex ailments.

In light of the above, we can conclude that it is often not a good idea for a patient to be looking into their doctor's records as this might be more inimical than beneficial.