Question:

Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? It is more important for students to understand ideas and concepts than it is for them to learn facts.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Read the question below. You have 30 minutes to plan, write, and revise your essay. Typically an effective response will contain a minimum of 300 words.

Directions:

When talking about learning, the first question that needs to be answered is- " Why am I learning this?". Most often, our ultimate goal of learning something is to apply the learned knowledge in real-life practical settings. With that in mind, I strongly agree with the given statement. I firmly believe that it is more important for students to grasp the ideas and concepts behind a topic than to memorize mere facts. There are tons of reasons why I feel this way, but the most pivotal ones are explored in the subsequent paragraphs.

First and foremost, in this era of the internet, it is a piece of cake to get hold of most of the pertinent facts and figures regarding a certain topic. A student does not necessarily need to memorize or learn these facts by heart. He can simply refer to his textbooks or other internet-based resources when required. However, concepts and ideas are fundamental to the understanding of a certain topic or subject. These can not be easily derived or deduced by glancing over a textbook or other resources. Students need to fully comprehend these concepts before they can successfully utilize their knowledge in a practical setting. Drawing from my own experience, once, I worked on a project that required us to design a robotic arm. I remember that I needed to know the specific density of oil for making certain calculations regarding the design. I simply googled it and found the exact specific density of oil, which I never really memorized or learned by heart. This clearly illustrates that it is not so crucial to learn all the facts and figures regarding a topic as learning the ideas and concepts are.

Additionally, concepts and ideas are vitally important for designing or applying the learned knowledge and are equally important for the advancement of that knowledge. Research on a particular topic can only be conducted once the rudimentary concepts and ideas behind that topic are fully understood. For example, without having an understanding of how gravity truly works, it is not possible to envisage space travel. Although the exact value of the acceleration due to gravity is important, It definitely pales in comparison to the importance of fully comprehending the cause and effects of gravity.

In light of the above, we can conclude that understanding ideas and concepts is more critical for truly grasping a topic than just memorizing mere facts.