Many lives might be saved if inoculations against cow flu were routinely administered to all people in areas where the disease is detected. However, since there is a small possibility that a person will die as a result of the inoculations, we cannot permit inoculations against cow flu to be routinely administered.

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument. it inoculations against cow flu to be routinely administered.

While there might not be enough inoculations available to routinely be administered to all people in areas where cow flu is detected, the arguments presented by the author here is completely fallacious and full of holes. There are several important aspects which need to be considered before reaching a stringent conclusion of not permitting inoculations to be routinely administered.

Firstly, what does the author actually indicate by a small possibility of death? If we assume that there is a 1% chance of death from cow flu,then in a flu affected community of 10,000 people, about a 100 people will die. This is a massive number and can not be neglected. Every human life matters and must be protected at any cost. Without knowing the actual numerical probability of death, one can not arrive at any prudent decision regarding not administering inoculations.

Secondly, how many areas are affected by cow flu? If the number of areas affected are tractable, then there should not be any problems in routinely administering inoculations. This also depends directly on the availability of inoculations. If the number of inoculations available can cover all the affected areas, then there seems to be no logical reason to not permit inoculations to be routinely administered.

Moreover, the author assumes that probability of death is the only deciding factor here. However, there may be countless side effects of cow flu. A person contacting such flu might be immobilized for a few weeks in which case he can not fulfill any of his personal or social committments. There might be other long term side effects which can cause a greater heath concern for the flu affected people. Without knowing the full extension of the side effects of cow flu, we can not reach a valid conclusion.

Additionally, the author presents no valid arguments in favor of not permitting inoculations against cow flu to be routinely administered. If there is indeed a shortage of available inoculations, in which case it would be impossible to inoculate every flu affected area. In order to decide a viable course of action, we must have an account of the availability of inoculations.

In conclusion, it must be stated that the author arguments contain numerous logical fallacies and thus can not be used to reach any significant conclusions in such an important matter.