The memorandum form the business manager states that due to the increase in coverage of the national news the time for weather and local new has reduced. Due to this many people have complained of the reduction and the local business have also canceled their advertising contracts. To reduce further loss of viewers and advertising revenue, the channel should revert back to it's old format. I disagree with the memorandum as it has made unwarranted assumption, which I have discussed below

First, the business manager doesn't provide any number for the complains received regarding the lack of coverage on weather and local news. It just states that most of the complains were regarding the decrease in coverage. Most could mean anything, if the number of complains are only 5, then most could mean that 3 complains were regarding the lack of coverage, which doesn't seem convincing to revert back to the old format. If the bussiness manager would have provided an actual number of complains, it would have strengthned their arguement.

Second, the business manager makes the assumption that due to the lack of coverage of weather and local news, the local business have cancelled their advertising contracts. The business manager had just correlated two things with no substantial proof of it. There could be other reasons due to which the local business might have canceled their contracts. If the manager would have provided proof that the linked the decrease in coverage lead to the business cancelling their contracts it would make his claim valid and worth debating over.

Finally, the producer assumes that reverting back to the old format would increase more viewers. No where in the memorandum is it mentioned that due to the change in format the number of viewers decreased. Instead, it could be that dues to the new format the viewers might have increased and reverting back to the old one would result in losing them. The business manager has made a baseless claim with nothing to back it. If the manager provided statistics of the number of viewers decreased due to the new format it would have buttressed his argument.

In summary, as the proposition stands it holds no water as it is based on unwarrented claims and little going for it. Till the manger doesn't provide concreate proof and statistics, reverting back to the old format would be a gamble which very few odds in it's favour.