An international development organization, in response to a vitamin A deficiency among people in the impoverished nation of Tagus, has engineered a new breed of millet high in vitamin A. While seeds for this new type of millet cost more, farmers will be paid subsidies for farming the new variety of millet. Since millet is already a staple food in Tagus, people will readily adopt the new variety. To combat vitamin A deficiency, the government of Tagus should do everything it can to promote this new type of millet.

In the above editorial it is stated that the increasing deficiency of vitamin A in the nation of Tagus is being combated with the use of a new breed of millet which is high in vitamin A, which will be ready consumed by majority of the people of Tagus as it is already a staple food for them and will thus eradicate the vitamin A deficiency plaguing the nation of Tagus. However before this recommendation is implemented, three questions must be answered .

First of all, what is the primary cause that only the citizens of Tagus are facing a deficiency in vitamin A? In other words there may be a serious issue in underlying in the biological system of the people of Tagus which may make there body incapable of absorbing the vitamin A even though present in there diet. It is possible that there may be a particular gene in the Tagus citizens that causes this deficiency. If the aforementioned scenario has merit then the new engineered breed of millet high in vitamin A will be rendered useless.

Secondly, the new engineered breed of millet high in vitamin A doesn't have any side effects and doesn't have any variance form the original naturally grown millet? The new millet needs to be highly tested and scientifically proved to be harmless to the body before giving it to the masses, if not then it might give rise to maybe an unknown disease which would cause more problems than solved. If the taste of the millet changes dues to the addition of high quantities of vitamin A it might not be consumed as often as it used to by the people of Tagus and thus the above mentioned method does not hold water.

Thirdly, will the subsidiaries provided by the government be enough motivation for the farmers to grow a new unproved variation of millet compared to normal one which has been doing well? The farmers are already troubled enough by the unpredictable climate which sometimes completely destroys there crops, and then taking the risk of growing a more expensive and not proven crop will give the farmer not motivation to grow them as if gone unsold the farmer will be insolvent as majority of the farmers have little to no savings and if the crops under perform the farmer might get depressed and might even take him life.

In conclusion the argument as it stands now is incredibly flawed due to its reliance on unwarranted assumptions. If the author can provide justifiable reasoning to the above mentioned questions ( typically in scientific study ) then one can fully evaluate the decision of going ahead with new engineered