Some people believe that government funding of the arts is necessary to ensure that the arts can flourish and be available to all people. Others believe that government funding of the arts threatens the integrity of the arts.

Write a response in which you discuss which view more closely aligns with your own position and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should address both of the views presented.

The subject of governments financially aiding the arts seems to have polarised those who are fascinated to voice their take on it. On the one hand, some support the opinion that such governmental funding is necessary to guarantee the success and the availability of the arts to the public. On the other hand, it is sometimes argued that government financing of the arts endangers the integrity of the arts. My notion on the matter is in a closer harmony with the latter mainly because the type of government and the potential lack of artistic judgement by authorities can in fact imperil the integrity of the arts.

When it comes to the kind government that is willing to allocate a portion of its budget to promoting the arts, it is always the risk of politicising things. Such trend can be felt more remarkably when a dictatorial regime decides to financially assist the arts. Experience suggests that in most such cases, if not all, the sole purpose of political leaders in alloting their financial resources is helping with reconstructing their damaged reputation through the years of dictatorship among the public. Documentaries and promotional films are two favourite artistic realms of authoritarian politicians who have a tendency to exploit their influences on the public. In short, such government funding of the arts does threaten the honesty of the arts.

What is more, government officials are mostly people with a lack of artistic sense with the result that they might be incapable of properly prioritising the governmental funds when it comes to artistic matters. It is true that in some democratic nations such authorities are actually knowledgeable folks in terms of the arts. Admittedly, in most parts of the globe, especially where oppressive regimes are ruling, top leaders choose the art department's authorities based on their political attitudes, regardless of their ability to make good artistic judgements. One of the evident ramifications of the above-mentioned trend in political leaders is that government's fiscal aids are unfairly granted to those works of art lacking the true merit of enjoying them, while so many high quality works may be deliberately ignored for reasons other than artistic and technical ones. Thus, the second problem with government funding of the arts is the potential lack of artistic knowledge from the authorities which may put the integrity of the arts at risk.

On balance, I feel that government funding of the arts does more harm than good, considering the possible threats imposed to the integrity of the arts by authoritarian rulers' disposition to misuse the arts for their personal gains. Further, experience suggests that there is always the danger of allocating government's funds in an unjust fashion to low-quality works of art by unsophisticated politicians who account for the majority of the heads of countries' art departments.