A nation should require all of its students to study the same national curriculum until they enter college.

Write a response in which you discuss your views on the policy and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider the possible consequences of implementing the policy and explain how these consequences shape your position.

A country ought to require all of its students to study the same nation-wide curriculum up until they enter university. That is the speaker's contention, and I tend to partially agree with it. To my way of thinking, educational programs should be flexible enough to cover some courses suitable for the students in some parts of a nation while basing their fundamentals on some immutable principles. The following essay will outline my take on the subject at hand.

To begin with, it seems to me that when it comes to making decisions of the contents of school students' curriculum, educational policymakers should introduce a sort of uniformity in the courses which are taught at schools so as to ensure that all of the school students would be familiarized with some basic academic contents useful for either their study or professional paths. Granting the educational decision-makers in each part of a country the ability to come up with their own unique curriculum in their locality would irrefutably result in a sort of chaotic situation happened to the education system. In short, in my view, national curricula should be set in the manner in which they cover the most basic educational elements to which students would need in the foreseeable future.

Having made these points, however, it could be legitimately argued that sometimes it is the case that the school students educational needs or interests may differ from part to part of a nation. As I see the second-most significant characteristic of a school curriculum is its capaility to pay attention to local needs or interests of pupils of a particular area in parallel with covering the national educational basics discussed above. By way of illustration, the school students of a locality which enjoys a great deal of industrial sites may be willing to get careers pertinent to industry or engineering. Hence the educational policymakers of this specific region should do their best to satisfy the students' vocational needs by considerably emphasizing on physics- or mathematics-related courses in their curricula. Therefore, besides covering the most elementary principles of education, schools' curricula should also be flexibe enough to cover some educational needs or interests of the students which may be different locally.

On balanca, I feel that educational curricula ought to be sufficiently flexible to cover some courses appropriate for the pupils in certain localities of a country while basing their basics upon some unchangeable principles whose learning would be essential for preparing the students for either the job market or for continuing their academic path at university in the future.