The following is a memorandum from the business manager of a television station.

"Over the past year, our late-night news program has devoted increased time to national news and less time to weather and local news. During this period, most of the complaints received from viewers were concerned with our station's coverage of weather and local news. In addition, local businesses that used to advertise during our late-night news program have canceled their advertising contracts with us. Therefore, in order to attract more viewers to our news programs and to avoid losing any further advertising revenues, we should expand our coverage of weather and local news on all our news programs."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The argument that the television station ought to restore the time alloted to weather and local news to its previous level so as to attract more audience and to prevent losing any further marketing revenues is not complete. There are gaps in the logic that render it unconvincing. The following essay will expose these flaws and demonstrate how the argument could be made more cogent.

First, the fact that over the past year the station received most of the complaints from viewers who were concerned with the station's coverage of weather and local news is little indication that restoring the time devoted to weather and regional news to its former level would lead to an increase in the number of the station's viewers. It is highly probable that the complaints come from the minority of the station's audience, and that those people following the station's nation-wide news actually account for the majority of its viewers. The manager just fails to provide us with some pertinent figures regarding how the station's national and local news fans contribute to the overall number of the sation's viewers. Since the writer fails to consider and rule out the above-mentioned considerations, the argument remains dubious. If the author had shown that those people following the station's news about their localities in fact markedly constitute the total number of the station's audience, the argument could have been strengthened.

What is more, the manager unfairly presumes that the majority of the station's revenues come from the advertisements offered to be on the air by the local businesses, yet he/she has presented no information that this is necessarily the case. It is entirely possible that the revenues obtained through the advertising contracts made by these local businesses contribute to a small fraction of the station's overall revenues. Hence, changing the station's timetable to its previous condition would not be that fruitful in terms of preventing the station's lost revenues from rising. Such possibility casts grave doubts on the validity of the argument. The author could reinforce their case by statistically informing us with regard to the true contribution made to the station's overall level of revenues through the local businesses' advertising contracts, and by underscoring the fact that such contribution is in fact remarkable.

To summarize, the argument is not wholly sensible. The evidence in support of the recommendation that the station should return its time spent on weather and regional news to its former state with the aim of thwarting more advertising profits from being lost and also raising the number of the station's viewers does little to substantiate that suggestion, since it does not address the suppositions already brought up.