The following appeared in a memo from the vice president of a food distribution company with food storage warehouses in several cities.

"Recently, we signed a contract with the Fly-Away Pest Control Company to provide pest control services at our warehouse in Palm City, but last month we discovered that over $20,000 worth of food there had been destroyed by pest damage. Meanwhile, the Buzzoff Pest Control Company, which we have used for many years in Palm City, continued to service our warehouse in Wintervale, and last month only $10,000 worth of the food stored there had been destroyed by pest damage. Even though the price charged by Fly-Away is considerably lower, our best means of saving money is to return to Buzzoff for all our pest control services."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

The argument that the food distribution corporation ought to return to Buzzoff Pest Control Company for its pest control services so as to save money is not complete. There are gaps in the logic that render it unconvincing. The following essay will expose these flaws and demonstrate how the argument could be made more cogent.

First, the argument unfairly presupposes that the occurence happened in Fly-Away Pest Control Company and resulted in the $20,000 loss of food for the distribution company last month is something repeating quite often, yet it could be simply not the case. Perchance such unfortunate incident occured last month was quite rare during the possible years of the food company's contract with Fly-Away. Or maybe that adverse occurence happened because one or some of Fly-Away's workers acted recklessly, and that Fly-Away got rid of them after the incident. Since the author fails to consider and rule out such possibilities, the argument remains dubious. If the vice president had shown that such unfortunate happenings have been quite frequent during the years of collaboration with Fly-Away, and that working with Buzzoff would be necessarily devoid of such financially harmful experiences, the argument could have been strengthened.

What is more, the less amount of financial loss in Wintervale where the food distribution company works with Buzzoff, compared to that in Palm City, is little indication that the authror's recommendation would be reasonable. It is entirely possible that the amount of the food distribution company's bussiness activities in Palm City is cosiderably greater that in Wintervale with the result that the company's loss in the former is twice the latter as mentioned in the argument. Hence, such lower financial bottom-line in Wintervale is not due to the fact that Buzzoff is more efficacious than Fly-Away. Similarly, if the food distribution company raises the unknown amount of its business transactions in Wintervale, it is highly probable for the corporations to witness losses much more than Palm City's. Such considerations cast grave doubts on the validity of the argument. The author could reinforce their case by presenting detailed information about the volume of the food distribution company's business interactions in Palm City and Wintervale, and that they are comparable with each other in size.

Finally, the vice president suggests returning to Buzzoff regardless of the fact that it is more expensive than Fly-Away. However, he/she provides no data on whether adopting such step would be economical for the company or not. It is plausible that paying for the financial obligations imposed on the company through collaborating with Buzzoff would be beyond the corporation's current affordability, and that the so-called "low" difference between the costs of Fly-Away and Buzzoff is still a remarkable amount of money. This point alos does not justify the writer's suggestion. To better assess the verifiability of the argument, presenting a sort of cost-profit analysis of the food distribution company would be advantageous for that matter.

To summarize, the argument is not wholly sensible. The evidence in support of the recommendation that returning to Buzzoff would save money for the distribution company does little to substantiate that suggestion, since it does not address the suppositions already brought up.