Claim: The surest indicator of a great nation is not the achievements of its rulers, artists, or scientists.

Reason: The surest indicator of a great nation is actually the welfare of all its people.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim and the reason on which that claim is based.

The surest metric of a great country is not the coups of its rulers, artists or scholars, rather it is the well-being of all its citizens which is the definate indicator. That is the speaker's contention, and I tend to hold the center ground regarding the topic. To my way of thinking, both of the indicators mentioned in the speaker's claim and its reason have some degree of merit to be taken into account as deciding elements. The following essay will outline my take on the subject at hand.

To begin with, I disagree with the claim that the achievements of a nation's leaders, artists or scientists cannot be regarded as a reliable indicator to assess the greatness of the nation. What I believe is that a country's rulers or the erudite are actually members of a society. Their greatness and efficacy can considerably impact the nation where they are living in either the short or long run. By way of illustration, the USA is known as a country housing some of the most prominent figures human history has ever witnessed such as Thomas Edison. It seems unfair to me that one decides to ignore the influence of such noteworthy people on the greatness of America. Similarly, in music industry there have been so many top-notch artists living in the USA who helped making a particular genre to develop and become known globally. The late great singer Elvis Presley seems to be a meet instance for that matter, whose works remarkably assisted the Rock and Roll music. In short, the speaker's claim appears to be incapable of considering a crucial aspect of the current issue, in that it ignores the defining roles of some important men and women of a nation whose greatness can in fact inform their country's magnificence as a whole.

Having made these points, however, the level of a country's overall well-being seems to be another suitable factor to measure its greatness. In this day and age, improving the general populace's welfare has been one of the highest priorities of any governments or political leaders. To the best of my knowledge, throughout the human history one of the most trusted indicators to assess a nation's greatness has been the welfare of its residents. A simple look at the greatest countries in the globe would reveal the fact that almost all of them enjoy a characteristic called accpetable level of welfare among the general population. Nations such as England, Germany and France which are thought to be some of the great nations on earth all possess a rather palatable degree with which their dwellers are provided with welfare. Hence, looking at the current pattern among some of the wealthiest and greatest nations in the world, one can confidently deduce that the reason presented by the speaker would deserve to be paid equal attention just as the antithesis of his/her claim.

On balance, I feel that one cannot irrefutably assert that the most effective metric for assessing the greatness of a country is the welfare of all its people. While such factor plays a significant role in deciding the greatness of a nation, there are still other telling factors such as the achievements of a country's notable figures for that matter.