Workers in the small town of Leeville take fewer sick days than workers in the large city of Masonton, 50 miles away. Moreover, relative to population size, the diagnosis of stress-related illness is proportionally much lower in Leeville than in Masonton. According to the Leeville Chamber of Commerce, these facts can be attributed to the health benefits of the relatively relaxed pace of life in Leeville.

Write a response in which you discuss one or more alternative explanations that could rival the proposed explanation and explain how your explanation(s) can plausibly account for the facts presented in the argument.

The explanation that the referred facts in the argument can be ascribed to the health advantages of the rather relaxed celerity of life in Leeville, as opposed to Masonton, is not complete. There are gaps in the logic of the argument that render it unconvincing. The following essay will expose these flaws and demonstrate how the argument could be made more cogent.

To begin with, the argument unfairly presumes that less sick days taken by Leeville's workers compared to Masonton's is the valid indicator of the health benefits of living in Leeville, yet it does nothing to explain how it could be the case. First, the author has not presented any kind of reliable evidence or statistics with the aim of backing up his/her claim. Perhaps according to the official figures a great deal of Leeville's workers in fact take more sick days than Mosonton's workers. Further, even admitting that Leeville's workers take fewer sick days, it is still entirely possible these fewer workers suffer from much more serious medical conditions than the larger number of Masonton's workers taking sick days. Since the author fails to consider and rule out such possibilities, the argument remains dubious. If the writer had proved his claim through presenting some official figures, and if he/she had given more details regarding the severity of the medical conditions of those taking sick days in both cities, the argument could have been strengthened.

Moreover, what is the base for the writer's second claim regarding the diagnosis of stress-related malady? Again the author has pointed out to a fact without supplying it with some scientific results or survey outputs, with the result that this way the argument would be open to serious reservations. Perhaps the majority of the Leeville's general populace did not go under careful examination with regard to determining the proportionality of stress-linked illnesses hence, resulting in the specious data that Masonton suffers more from such diseases in relation to its population. Such considerations cast grave doubts on the validity of the argument. The writer could reinforce their case by first, presenting highly validated results confirming his/her claim regarding the frequency of stress-related illnesses in the two cities, and then through giving information about the fractions of the two cities' general populations examined for determining the stress-related illness cases in the two cities.

To summarize, the argument is not wholly sensible. The evidence in support of the deduction that the mentioned facts in the argument can be attributed to the wellness benefits of the rather relaxed pace of life in Leeville, compared to Masonton, does little to substantiate that inferrence, since it does not address the suppositions already brought up.