The following appeared in a health newsletter.

"Nosinia is an herb that many users report to be as effective as prescription medications at fighting allergy symptoms. Researchers recently compared Nosinia to a placebo in 95 men and women with seasonal allergies to ragweed pollen. Participants in the study reported that neither Nosinia nor the placebo offered significant relief. However, for the most severe allergy symptoms, the researchers reported that Nosinia was more effective than the placebo in providing relief. Furthermore, at the end of the study, participants given Nosinia were more likely than participants given a placebo to report feeling healthier.We therefore recommend using Nosinia to help with your severe allergy symptoms.

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

The argument that consuming Nosinia aids with serious allergy symptoms does not seem to be complete. There are gaps in the logic that render it unconvincing. The following essay will expose these flaws and demonstrate how the argument could be made more cogent.

First, the argument unfairly presupposes that the so-called "many users" reporting Nosinia to be as efficacious as prescription medicines at curbing allergy symptoms are representative of the majority of people. Perhaps these users account for a small fraction of people suffering from allergy in the society, or maybe they are people who have never experienced allergy symptoms in their lifetime, but have heard of the effectiveness of Nosinia from other people who have in fact witnessed the symptoms. In other words. these users' knowledge on the efficacy of Nosinia might be second-hand, hence adversely affect its credibility to back up the recommendation. If the author had shown that the above-mentioned users are actually representative of the majority of the patients in the community, whom themselves have tested and seen the positive impacts of Nosinia, the argument could have been strengthened.

Second, the fact that Nosinia was more effective than the placebo in providing relief in the aforesaid study is little indication that it also helps you with grave allergy symptoms. According to the study, neither of the two substances offered considerable relief, so how then Nosinia can be regarded as being useful in severe cases of allergy? Moreover, the argument has not presented information about the select group of the mentioned investigation, and that how its participants are representative of most , if not all, people suffering from allergy in the locality. The writer could reinforce their case by filling the blatant gap between the stated fact in the study (that none of the medications offered significant relief) and the recommendation, and by supplying details about the statistic characteristics of the referred study in terms of its capability to trace the general trend.

Finally, the relation between taking Nosinia and feeling healthier as the argument states, accomplishes nothing towards bolstering the recommendation that using Nosinia helps with severe allergy symptoms. Is suffering from severe allergy symptoms the only metric for assessing people's wellness? The argument illogically assumes that you are either healthy or suffering from severe allergy symptoms. Yet it is entirely possible that those who felt healthier at the end of the study reported their overall wellness but not specifically their allergy symptoms. The line of reasoning would become stronger if the author vividly stated that the pre-set definition of being healthy

in the study is the degree to which its respondents are suffering from severe allergy symptoms.

To summarise, the argument is not wholly sensible. The evidence in support of the recommendation that those with severe allergy symptoms should use Nosinia does little to prove that suggestion, since it does not address the suppositions already brought up.