Claim: Many problems of modern society cannot be solved by laws and the legal system.

Reason: Laws cannot change what is in people's hearts or minds.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim and the reason on which that claim is based.

So many issues of the contemporary community cannot be resolved through rules and the legal mechanism, since laws cannot alter citizens' way of thinking, feeling, or behaving. That is the speaker's contention, and I tend to wholly disagree with it. To my way of thinking, the presented claim and the justification upon which it is based fail to take into consideration some essential aspects of the topic, and the following essay will outline the reasons behind my take on the subject at hand.

To begin with, my primary problem is with the speaker's claim itself which just wrongly and unfairly tries to undermine the efficacious role of the legal systen in solving a society's problems. In my view, reasonable legislation is in fact capable of successfully dealing with social issues, provided that they are persistently and incessantly emphasized on by policymakers and law enforcement agents. By way of illustration, in my home country when at first officials decided to mandate fastening car seat belts, there was a type of social defiance from the majority of the citizens, who thought of the newly introduced law as a bothering action, with the result that some

started doubting about the feasibility of inuring the general population to abiding by the rule. However, after the central government demonstrated considerable perseverence in conducting the scheme, fastening seat belt gradually became a new normal among the mejority of the ordinary people. In short, assuming that the laws of a nations have been regulated in a sensible manner, regarding such rules as being unable to resolve social matters appear to be an unjust view.

What is more, my next issue is with the speaker's given reason for his/her claim. It basically tries to convey the message that changing what is in people's hearts or minds plays an essential role in solving social problem. Yet it is entirely possible that everything that is in people's hearts or thoughts are not necessarily reasonable or mature enough to be considered as the area which should so as to resolve the issues. For instance, in a society where a remarkable fraction of the general populace consists of illiterate citizens with actually no idea regarding how to solve the challenging problems of today's globe, it seems to be the responsibily of the intellectuals and

scholars of that society to start grappling with the real-world tough issues by means of introducing highly effective and sensible regulations. Hence, basing the act of finding

solutions to social problems on altering people's heart or minds, instead of setting appropriate laws, is another reason why the presented notion of the speaker renders unconvincing as I see.

On balance, I feel that the given claim and the reason on which it is based fail to take into account some vital aspects of the subject at hand, with the result that it remains unbale to convince me.