Formal education tends to restrain our minds and spirits rather than set them free.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

Over the course of time, education has been considered to be one of the most crucial element in a person's life. Also, literacy is a major factor for evaluating a country's growth. However, the prompt claims that the formal education tries to limit the creativity and ability to express free thoughts in an individual. I mostly agree with the position for two main reasons, which I will elucidate below. But, I do concede that formal education teaches us values which are necessary for a person to blend in the society.

To begin, in the recent years, the competition to acquire the best education have risen significantly. This have caused negative effects on the students as well as the society. The notion that a person cannot achieve a good career if they did not go to the best college is troubling the youth to a great extent. In countries like India, China and USA which are highly populated, this issue is exacerbated. Many students waste years preparing just for the entrance exams. Studies shows there is an increase in stress and anxiety among students over the last decades. The educational institutes are taking advantage of this situation by fictitious promises. The parents are enrolling their children in extra classes at an earlier stage, in the hopes that the students will get an extra advantage. All these factors have affected the students in their developing years and this can be blame on the current education system.

Secondly, the qualities of creativity, passion, free thoughts, etc. are not appreciated. Due to strenuous competition, many students give up on their hobbies and passion. Little to less attention is paid by parents on these matters. Students are well institutionalized. Even after getting into the best universities and colleges the student remain largely unsatisfied and few of them even drops out. Even the ones that don't drop out remains at large dispassionate with their jobs. This result in degradation of quality of work in the industries. While, many people like Einstein and Newton did not complete their formal education and are still consider to be very successful. Hence, it is plausible to conclude that formal education do refrain out minds.

However, I do believe it is important for children to receive educations because it not only provide us with knowledge but also teaches us values necessary to sustain in society. The common thing which is found among robbers and thieves is that they lack educations. Education could have help them land a job at least so that they didn't have to resort to this. Other principles like punctuality, consistency are taught to students in schools. This help students to become a better person. Thus, it can be said that even though acquiring education is filed with problems, it is important for a person to have a basic education.