“As we acquire more knowledge, things do not become more comprehensible, but more complex and mysterious.”

Knowledge is besides facts and experiences of the material world around us, a spirit of humans excavating truth and assets accumulated for thousands of years. As we enlighten ourselves through investigation the world, some may assert that things are getting more complicated and abstruse. However, I assume that we are continuously making the world transparent and reasonable.

It is apparent that as time went by, our focus toward knowledge have become more complicated. In the seventeenth century, scientists were studying on some basic ideas such as Newton’s law, basic chemical compounds and planets around Earth; howbeit people nowadays are discussing quantum effect, nuclear fission and blackholes. The propaganda is indeed, seemingly more convoluted and beyond our cognition. Also, we often find ourselves become more frustrated to explain natural phenomenon as we study from elementary to university. We started to have more questions around us, but remain no answer even though we are getting more educated than before. It seems like pursuiting knowledge only makes our lives more opaque.

Nevertheless, it is actually an illusion for humans. As we get involved in knowledge of miscellaneous realms, we do get a more understanding of things around us. For example, people living 300 years ago find themselves distressed when encountering the concept of imaginary numbers, while it is now a basic material for high school students. We established several theories about solid state physics, which was a mystery for our ancestors, assisted us to design most of the electronics and technological devices in our daily lives. Inevitably, we do feel the world become more complex than ever, however this is based on the broadened horizon knowledge gives us, and the curiosity urges us to dig deeper to the truth. We now may think of pulsars and stars thousands of lightyears away from us as an enigma, but back in the old days people simply just look at the sky and wonder what the shining thing is. We now consider our world a mysterious one as we learn more, it is because we are getting accustomed to those we felt difficult, and having trouble accepting with, expanding our comfort zone.

Knowledge is the holy grail, the ultimate pursuit for humans. Although some may think the world is getting more complicated, I contend that as we learn more, we are getting closer to truth. We will always see clearer, and digest the latest discovery we found, and start a new cycle of approaching to those we have not encountered or imagined.