The following is a memorandum from the business manager of a television station.

"Over the past year, our late-night news program has devoted increased time to national news and less time to weather and local news. During this time period, most of the complaints received from viewers were concerned with our station's coverage of weather and local news. In addition, local businesses that used to advertise during our late-night news program have just canceled their advertising contracts with us. Therefore, in order to attract more viewers to the program and to avoid losing any further advertising revenues, we should restore the time devoted to weather and local news to its former level."

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The memorandum from the business manager of a television station asserts the restoration of time allocated to the weather and local news to their original level. The manager came to this conclusion based on the complaints from viewers who wanted more coverage on weather and local news reports as well as the cancellation of advertisements from local businesses which used to cooperate with the television station during late-night news program. However, the manager's assertion is based on unwarranted assumptions and is seriously flawed.

To begin with, the complaints received from the viewers about the coverage of weather and local news doesn't represent the majority of the audiences. It is possible that very few proportion of the viewers have been complaining about it and a large number of viewers are finding the national news more suited to their taste. Also, it is not easy to convey a detailed weather report for all the places viewers reside in. For example, if a person watches the weather report from Edinburg city in Texas while the program is providing information about a hurricane in Austin, Texas, the person doesn't benefit a lot merely by watching the weather report; they would still keep on complaining. It is still a big question whether restoring the time for weather and local news would certainly increase the viewers. Other entertaining programs such as movies, dramas, and sports could be better alternatives as well. If this has merit, then the argument presented by the manager is significantly weakened.

Secondly, the cancellation of advertising contracts and restoration of time for weather and local news might not be correlated with each other al all. There is potential for a myriad of factors to influence the local businesses in cancelling their contracts with the television station: It could be the form or amount of charges, potentially better advertising options, no longer interested to continue business with the particular station or they could be targeting a different audience from before. Maybe the local businesses are cancelling the contracts, because the programs are not creative enough to attract the attention of the viewers. Therefore, before analyzing all the factors that would affect the relationship of the local businesses with the television station, it is not feasible to make such conclusion as that of manager's.

Another reason for stating restoring the time for weather and local news to its former level as a bad idea is that restoring the time dedicated for weather and local news might infact upset the viewers of national news and the television station could lose a wider audience. The current audience, for instance, could have been interested to watch a nation wide coverage of events; as such, bringing back the program concentrated on weather reports and local news could potentially push those viewers away. Even if we consider the weather and local news to be restored back, the right amount of time that needs to be dedicated for each program is still a huge dilemma. Amidst all these confusions, making baseless and unscientific assumptions might be fatal for the television station in terms of number of viewers.

To sum up, the argument, as it stands now, is based on several unwarranted assumptions and is seriously lacking in persuasiveness. If the station can take into account of several factors that might influence the local business and potentially consider other alternatives of weather and local news as well, it could prove to be advantageous for the station in increasing their audience. Considering these several reasons, the manager's idea of restoring the original time allocated to weather and local news does not hold water.