Essay topics:

Manned space flight is costly and dangerous. Moreover, the recent success of a series of unmanned space probes and satellites has demonstrated that a great deal of useful information can be gathered without the costs and risks associated with sending men and women into space. Therefore, we should invest our resources in unmanned space flight.

The letter to the editor of the national aronautics magazine surmises that resources ought to be invested in unmanned space flight owing to the higher cost and risk associated with manned flights. The argument presented in the letter is based on the recent success of a series of unmanned space flights which revealed the immense potential of such automated flights in gathering information and minimizing risk to men and women in space. However, the argument is based on unwarrented assumptions which is not cogent enought to support the notion stated in the letter for the ensuing reasons.

One of the most imperative assumptions stated in the letter is the high cost and greater risk associated with manned space flight. Although it is true that sending peple is space flight is definitely riskier and requires much more investement in terms of their safety, fooding and everything else necessary to sustain life on such flights, it is not wise to deny the fact that whatever achievements we have today in the outer space in because of such flights and the very contributions of men and women. There have been many tests with and without people in such space flights in the history, but we recall the most important ones when people set their foot in to the outer space in a manned space flights. This is all because, people have their own thinking capacity, able to make decisions as quick as blinking an eye; manned flights are able to navigate their way into the vast outerspace based on experience and their own beliefs. Unmanned/automated space flights, by contrast, are able to fly into the space without people and letting them at risk; this, however, renders such flights unable to act as per situations and unable to cope up with unexpected harsh conditions in the space. Furthermore, using manned flights may not be as expensive as unmanned flights as we have been beleiving so far; if we consider the costs incurred for initial investement for experiments destroying a large number of valuable space flights, expenses related to researching the technology itself and using them in a perfect way for real may not even bring the desired outcomes to the people. Therefore, the assumptions made by the author of the letter does not hold water.

Another crucial concern that needs to be addressed is the recent series of success gained from unmanned space probes. The letter is quite vague since it does not states the nature of the success -- the unmanned probes could be successful in reaching the outer space, it could be discussing the value of the information that have been gathered, and there is also the potential that the unmanned probes are just in testing phase and the successes were referring to the successful testing on a particular aspect of the probe only. The letter apparently states the success of the unmanned probes as a possibility not as something which has been already achieved. The unmanned space probes may not be sufficient enough to gather the evidence from the space and more tests need to be conducted in the future which will require even more time and resources than it was needed for manned space flights. If these concerns are valid, then the assumptions presented in the argument by the author in his letter are unwarrented and not cogent enough since the sucess of the unmanned flights are not guarranteed, and it might instead become a burden, thereby implying that it is not wise to suggest the investment on unmanned space flight without concrete evidence.

Furthermore, the unmanned space flights take too much time and resources experiment and test their efficacy and obtain results to suppor their uses in outer space. It is highly likely that the probes which were successful in testing phase might take decades or even hundreds of years to successfully explore the vast outer space which would then require astonishingly large amount of resources and investment. Unmanned space probes could be something which is wasting the precious resources that could have been used to improve the manned flights and increase their safety in the space. There is still a lot of aspects which could instead promote and enhance the current manned flights; afterall, the success rate of manned flights have been well established from successful venture into the moon and other areas of space around the earth. For these reasons, the assumptions of the author are not valid and the argument is not articulate enough suppor the notion of increasing the investment on unmanned space flights.

In conclusion, the manned space flight could be more riskier and costly to observe at a glance, but their success cannot be negated as well. Instead of wasting valuable resources on unmanned space fliht