Claim: When one is making a decision, it is better to have a limited number of options.

Reason: The more options a person has, the more difficult it is to make a rational decision.

There are boundless possibillities in life and whenever people come across a crossroad, decision taking matters a lot; in such situations, they prefer to have options to choose from rather than being compelled to be confined with a set of ways. A limited number of options render people helpless at some times while on the other hand, it may not be limiting merely their options but their future prospectives as well. The limitation in options, depending upon the situation, context and the gravity of the matter might vary which could potentially incur a huge impact on the lives of people and their surrounding as well. However, dilemma can also drive people to oblivion without being able to make correct decisions as a result of plethora of options thrown in front of them. Therefore, it is essential to take into account of several contextual factors and the nature of the options themselves when deciding whether limited or a large number of options are better to have while making decisions.

To begin with, human nature is fickle and people are easily swayed by thier emotional, be it anger, grief, joy or envy. These emotions play crucial role in determining the decision making ability of people. Not many people are able to stay calm and collected facing the extremities of these emotions; they might become fidgetted or loose their composure due to their emotions. In such conditions, they are unable to think rationally and a limited number of options might lead them to their doom instead since they won't be able to think if those options are beneficial for them or deleterious. For example, a homeless person suffering from extreme hunger would definitely long for some food; he has the options to ask for food from someone, steal them, or may be work at a place for an hour to get enough money to buy him some food. However, it is dependent on his mental perspective and psychological condition which enables him to make rational decision of whether asking for food or stealing the money to buy food. If he considers the options of just stealing and robbing another person, he would certainly be detained and sent to jail. Should he consider a wider range of options, he can opt for asking for food or work at a nearby place for money to buy some food. Amidst all these emotional drivers within us, it is therefore, beenficial to have a wider range of options during decision making.

In another instance, limited options can be detrimental to peoples' future as well. The people won't be ablet to make correct decisions as per their need if presented iwith limited numebr of options. If a student has limtied options to take his courses he might not be able to pursue what he desires. He has to be satisfied with whatever he has which will hinder his developent in the future. He won't be able to make the desired progress. Therefore limited numebr of options may sometime regress the people in terms of their potential and could also ruin their future.

However, sometimes people are unable to make the decision even though a lot of options are present infront of them. This is mostly centered around people who have a better oppotunities in life and every options are equally or more lucrative than the other. For instance, Elon Musk had the option to buy Twitter and be the owner of this multinational company; he also had the option to buy the majority of the shares and retain a portion of the ownership. Perhaps, he also had better options to buy other companies which are entirely different from Twitter, we never know. However, the thing is, he was in a prolonged dilemma and finally decided to be the CEO of Twitter by buying the company which pushed him in a lot of controversies and issues. If he had not bought it and instead retained the shares only, it is possible that he would have benefitted in billions of dollars. This suggests that when confronted with better options, a person can sometimes make rash decisions or is unable to identify the best among the options. In such circumstances, having limited options would be extremely beneficial to the people and assist them in maiking the best decision.

Limited number of options narrow down the scope of possibilities of people and they might be forced to make unwanted decisions which can affect their future. However, if the options are positive and beneficial a limited number of such options enables people to make the correct decisions and prevent them from confusion and dilemma. Therefore, we must consider the possibilites of the options, the potential consequences and make the decisions accordingly despite the given number of options to us.