Do you agree or disagree with the following statement In my country young people have a better life today than their parents enjoyed when they were young

Society today is marked by several technological advancements that have made considerable changes in the lifestyle of people. While some people argue that these have led to unhealthy lifestyles devoid of any physical activity, others are more proactive in highlighting their benefits. In my opinion, I agree that young people in my country have better lives compared to their parents, primarily because they did not have access to such revolutionary technology. In the subsequent paragraphs, I would like to explore two main reasons to support my view.

First of all, our parents did not have access to mobile phones that have become ubiquitous today. Communication itself was difficult and people had to travel several kilometres to send out a message. Additionally, transport systems were also not well developed during that time. With the advent of technology, most youngsters today own hand-held devices which help them not only navigate through unknown places but also helps them maintain contact with their family almost all the time. Drawing from personal experience, I have heard stories where my father had to travel more than ten kilometres to his school, on a bicycle. Proliferation of software systems coupled with advanced hardware have led to development of app-cab facilities which have become a major transport facility today. Such facilities were not available to our parents.

Furthermore, internet as we know it today, was not prevalent during our parents’ time. Youngsters today are drawn towards social media and are significantly aware of the geopolitical changes happening around the globe. Thus, information through internet has transcended across national boundaries. This is in direct contrast to how information reached our previous generations. Earlier, key national developments were prioritised through state-sponsored media and as such global news were broadcasted selectively. Hence, compared to our parents, youngsters today are more empowered with knowledge of events occurring both globally and nationally and can freely share their opinions on these through the world-wide web.

Arguably, opinions related to how technology has led to an unhealthy lifestyle devoid of physical activity is subjective. It is true that the ease at which things can be done today in my country, is something which was considered impossible by our predecessors. Hence, physical rigour was a key part of their lives. However, even today motivated individuals participate in healthy lifestyle practices and routine physical exercise often with technological aid to monitor key health parameters such as heart-beat.

In conclusion, my agreement to the statement that in my country, young people have better lives compared to their parents is closely related to the technological advances that have occurred over the past few decades. Technological advances in communications and transport infrastructure development coupled with the proliferation of internet are two main reasons on which my opinion rests.