The following is taken from a memo from the advertising director of the Super Screen Movie Production Company According to a recent report from our marketing department during the past year fewer people attended Super Screen produced movies than in any ot

The author argues that even though the percentage of positive reviews about specific Super Screen movies have inceased during the past year, fewer people have attended such movies and concludes that the contents of such reviews have failed to reach the prospective viewers. Therefore, he suggests that the problem is not with the quality of their movies but with the lack of awareness among the public and hence more budget should be allocated to advertising. However, the author inadvertently raises a few questions that needs to be adequately answered to decide whether his recommendation is sound.

First, in talking about the percentage of positive reviews about specific Super Screen movies, a pertinent question that comes to our mind is "What is the absolute number of reviews?". A percentage increase does not necessarily amount to an incease in the absolute numbers. If the number of reviewers has decreased more than the number of positive reviews, then the percentage of positive reviews is likely to increase, but such an increase does not necessarily show that the number of postive reviews have increased over the year and hence directly contradicts to the authors supposition that the Super Screen-produced movie positive reviews have increased.

Second, the author directly relates the attendance of people in Super Screen produced movies to the public's lack of awareness of these movies. However, there might be other global or national causes which have prevented people to visit movie theatres altogether and hence similar trends is manifest across all movies released during that time. In looking into the specifics of the report of the marketing department from the previous year, the author fails to look into the question as to whether similar trends were prevalent for other movies as well. Unless such a question is answered, the author's argument that the lack of attendance in Super Screen movies was due to causes which are specific to itself stands unreasonable.

Furthermore, the author directly concludes that the problem doesn't lie in the quality of their movies but in the publicity of such movies based on the percentage of positive reviews. However the question regarding such a conclusion is whether those who attended the movies, albeit in small numbers, did actually feel that the movies were worth the money. Had it been so, then they could have also unofficially advertised the movie, verbally to their acquaintances, and this could have compensated the loss due to lack of other official advertising ventures. Also, how allocating more budget to advertising will allow the production company to maintain its quality of movies with a limited budget needs to be answered.

In conclusion, the author may be true in his recommendation that more budget needs to be allocated in advertising their movies. However, as it stands now his memo presents certain unanswered questions which needs evaluation to decide whether his argument stands reasonable. Precisely, questions on how does the percentage of positive reviews actually depict an increase in its absolute numbers, whether other movies observed similar trends during the previous year, whether those who visited the movie actually felt the movie had a superior quality, and whether allocation of more budget to advertising will not impact the quality of its movies needs to be ascertained to make the author's argument more persuasive.