As we acquire more knowledge things do not become more comprehensible but more complex and mysterious Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take I

Given the advancements of socio-economic, scientific, and historical research, the ever-increasing curiosity of mankind has led to development of a knowledge-based society, which encompasses almost everything ranging from city planning to space missions. The prompt questions whether such knowledge elucidates our understanding or does it make it a complex affair. In my opinion, I strongly agree that knowledge serves to advance our understanding of already established observations, helps us predetermine certain solutions as valid or invalid based on experience or empirical data, while simultaneously encouraging us to explore the unknown. Indisputably, such explorations are often futile, but there exists potential to reveal valuable insights through such endeavours.

The fact that mankind confronts novel problems each day mandates that such confrontations are met with an effort to abate the probability of facing similar problems in the future. Without gaining proper insight into the causal relationships that such arbitrations of natural or man-made origin, it is impossible to place measures in place to prevent widespread damage. For example, research into what actually cause tsunamis have led meteorological departments and weather channels to predict such events beforehand. While the root cause of such tsunamis may be attributed to shifts in the tectonic plates of the earth, it is through advanced technology that such events are predicted and disaster management teams are deployed to maximise efforts in saving lives.

Similarly, events like Chernobyl disaster shows us how obsession with any particular technology may eventually lead to disastrous consequences that have profound implications should we choose to ignore the red flags. While in this case nuclear technology, a potential source of power such as electricity, which is otherwise derived from thermal power plants, utilising resources such as coal, serves to the benefit of mankind, it can also be deemed hazardous if we ignore certain measures that are required to ensure proper operational safety. Such experience come at a huge cost of life, but in the end serve admonitory and cautions us from taking a similar course of action during our future encounters with such technology.

The ever increase vastness of knowledge encourages us to delve into the unknown, to discover fascinating new physical phenomena. Once deemed impossible, space exploration has helped us in finding how gravitational forces are different on the moon from the earth. This leap into the unknown has established long unproven theories such as existence of gravitational waves, and led to discovery of newer physical phenomena such as black holes and nebulae. Space exploration, though initially riddled with failures, through the unfettered motivation of scientists and engineers alike, have undergone radical advancements and today people are striving towards setting up colonies in Mars.

Indisputably, advanced knowledge do have some detrimental effects. For example, the knowledge of using nuclear energy as arms in warfare has severely affected lives of thousands of people. Even space exploration has had its bad days when rockets, while re-entering Earth were completed burned to ashes due to structural failures. However, such incidents serve to caution mankind to be double-sure and certain on their understandings before carrying out risky ventures, which can cost lives. With such experience, people have adhered to strict measures and eventually diminished the probability of such mishaps to a miniscule quantity.

In conclusion, my agreement that knowledge serves to elucidate our understanding rather than complicate, stands unwavering based on the above examples. These examples shows that as we acquire more knowledge, we can better understand the aspects of reality as it relates to our lives and this understanding further motivates us to explore regions of unknown, which eventually lead to solutions of complex universal phenomena.