Governments should focus on solving the immediate problems of today rather than on trying to solve the anticipated problems of the future.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the recommendation and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, describe specific circumstances in which adopting the recommendation would or would not be advantageous and explain how these examples shape your position.

The topic raises the issue that whether the government should focus on today or prepare the country for the future. Indisputably, the present generation must create a world in which our future generation is benefitted by our actions today. Nevertheless, it is equally important to focus on the present. If the government focuses the majority on the future, then the problems of the present will be carried on the future generations too. Thus, I generally agree with the prompt that the government should focus on present-day issues.

First of all, the government is responsible for growth and development in the area in their constituted area. The most important task for the government is to meet up to the needs of the people. To illustrate, a country that is suffering from a high rate of unemployment. People are homeless and dying on the streets. In this circumstance, if the government organization is busy discussing the town planning for future generations, then it might not be useful. The government should focus on ways to get a job to the needy and arrange for shelter homes for its citizens. The government has to ensure that its citizen are getting proper food and water. If the situation is not resolved at this stage it might further lead to new problems like spreading diseases, famine, and economic depression. This might leave the future generation under more problems than could have existed had the government focused on the present. Consequently, the example is further bolstering the main point that the government needs to fight against the issues existing in their country.

Furthermore, the government is also responsible for maintaining the health and hygiene of the citizens. I would like to point out that if a government can not maintain the heath level of its present citizen and presently people are suffering, then it is useless developing vaccines and medicines of diseases that might occur in the future. For example, today the entire world is fighting against the COVID-19 virus. If in this scenario, the government focuses on getting a new arms deal contract to strengthen the security of the nation, then the action is not justified. Specifically, when there are thousands and hundreds of people who are losing their lives daily. The government is required to focus on research to develop vaccines for it, make more and more hospital beds available to the ill citizens and focus on upgrading the health facilities rather than worrying about future attacks and threats. Hence, all the above are evidence above demonstrate that government should work in full force to focus on the present.

Admittedly, preparing for the future should also be on the entire work plan of the government. This is true especially when it comes to space and medical researches, technological and road developments, providing world-class facilities to the citizen. In addition to this, the government ’s plan to develop a non-renewable source of energy, environmental, and wildlife protection is a few more areas where government plans can be extremely helpful. However, this can not form the main focus area of the government. It is good to prepare for the future when the present is secured. But if a countries present is in chaos it is imprudent for the government to make plans for the future. Therefore, the government should have a motto that a stable present today will lead us to a better tomorrow.

In conclusion, although we have to leave a happy and peaceful world for our future with all the advanced technologies and comforts. But, focusing on the present is of utmost importance for a better future. In fact, by developing a stable economy and well-sufficient medical facilities we are building a strong foundation on which the future can flourish. The present government should try its best to resolve the standing problems and issues so that the upcoming government or future should not get caught in solving issues from the past.