The following appeared in a letter to the editor of a local newspaper.

"Commuters complain that increased rush-hour traffic on Blue Highway between the suburbs and the city center has doubled their commuting time. The favored proposal of the motorists' lobby is to widen the highway, adding an additional lane of traffic. But last year's addition of a lane to the nearby Green Highway was followed by a worsening of traffic jams on it. A better alternative is to add a bicycle lane to Blue Highway. Many area residents are keen bicyclists. A bicycle lane would encourage them to use bicycles to commute, and so would reduce rush-hour traffic rather than fostering an increase."

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The article concludes that the addition of a bicycle lane on the Blue highway will reduce the traffic rush problem of the commuters and would encourage people to use a bicycle to commute. The article further, bolsters its claim by providing an example of Green Highway where the traffic condition worsened on the addition of a new lane. Though the proposal seems convincing at first, as it will lead to fewer vehicles on the road and encourage a greener way of commuting, but when considered closely the plan is rift with assumptions for which no substantial proof has been furnished.

The first evidence which would help us evaluate the article’s claim is the comparison between the nature of commuters of Green Highway and Blue Highway. The article needs to provide us with reasons as to why there was an increase in commuters on Green Highway and will a similar condition prevail on Blue highway after the construction of a new lane. There is a possibility that the two highways are entirely different in their characteristics. For example, the roads in and around Green Highway might be closed or blocked as they are undergoing maintenance. This situation has led the traffic being directed through Green Highway; therefore resulting in more traffic. This a temporary situation and things are to go normal in a few months. If this is the case, the article reliance on Green Highway example is not warranted and the plan needs a reconsideration.

Another major evidence that is essential for the evaluation of the plan is the information regarding the willingness of the commuters to switch to bicycles as their’s mode of transport. The article assumes that as the residents are keen on bicycling, they will have no issue in changing their mode of transport. The people may prefer bicycling as a form of exercise or refreshing themselves but not as a transport to travel to the office. Further, if we were to learn that residents need to travel several kilometers to get to their place of work. They will be reluctant is considering a bicycle as a replacement for cars. Moreover, if the weather conditions in the area are not suitable for bicyclists,say, the area gets frequent rain or records very sunny days. If this is the case, the article’s claim would certainly be weakened. The people might oppose the entire plan and will raise more complaints. The situation might get exacerbated by the implementation of the plan. It would be beneficial if the planning committee surveys all the commuters to get an opinion regarding the proposed change.

It is also essential to know the meaning or the range of the word “many area residents” in evaluating the plan. The word is vaguely used and the article fails to provide any substantial evidence as to what percentage or ratio of people are keen bicyclist. For example, there might be five hundred people out of ten thousand people who are keen bicyclist. The small sample can not be generalized for the entire population. To strengthen the claim it is of utmost importance for the article to furnish us the statistical details representing a proper figure as to how many people were considered as keen bicyclists when the whole population is taken.

To sum up, the plan to construct a bicycle lane may have its merit but the evidences provided in the argument fails to make a solid case. Thereby rendering it too weak to be implemented at this point. The argument needs to provide us with information regarding people’s acceptance of the proposal and the real cause of increased traffic at Green Highway. The argument moreover needs to be more articulate in describing the keen bicyclist. Without answers to these questions, the article’s plan does not seem to be a full-proof.