The following is a petition to the city council of Centerville:

"Over the past three years, there has been a marked increase in cases of 'sidewalk rage,' similar to the irrational anger drivers experience on the road, but instead among sidewalk walkers. The result is an increase in assaults, property damage, and disruptions of normal pedestrian traffic. In order to address this growing problem, the council must ban cell phone use on sidewalks. Not only do people texting or using their phones slow down pedestrian traffic, but they are also more likely to walk into the road or bump into other walkers. Children are especially vulnerable because they are too short to be easily seen. Middletown passed such a ban and not only have they heard no complaints, but the reported incidents of sidewalk crime has gone down significantly."

The author believes that increase of the sidewalk rage was result from the people who used their cellphone on sidewalks. However, the evidence offered by the author is insufficient.

The memo states that banning cell phone use on sidewalks can resolve the problem of disruptions of normal pedestrian traffic. However, we need more evidence about this issue. What if the disruptions of normal pedestrian traffic is not because of the cell phone? It is possible that people walked slower than before. Even if some of people used their cell phone when they walk on sidewalk, we cannot assert cell phone is the problem. Lots of people using their cell phone still walk faster than people who do not use. Therefore, more information about this issue is needed.

The author suggestes that people texting or using their phones slow down pedestrian traffic, and they easily walk into the road and bump into other walkers. Nevertheless, we need further proof about this issue. There is no evidence that people bump into other walkers is the problem of using phone. For example, when I use my phone, I always see the front, and I never bump into other people. Thus, we cannot say lots of disruptions of normal pedestrian traffic are because of the phones.

The memo states that when Middletown passed such a ban, they did not ever hear complaints, and the reported incidents of sidewalk crime has gone down. Still, we need more inforamtion about this issue. What if there were no complaints with the sidewalk just because people did not complain? It is possible that people knew the cell phone was banned so that they did not need to complain, and the reporter heve not need to report this issue either.

To strengthen the argument, the author would need to provide more information as above mentioned.