The following appeared as part of a letter to the editor of a scientific journal.

"A recent study of eighteen rhesus monkeys provides clues as to the effects of birth order on an individual's levels of stimulation. The study showed that in stimulating situations (such as an encounter with an unfamiliar monkey), firstborn infant monkeys produce up to twice as much of the hormone cortisol, which primes the body for increased activity levels, as do their younger siblings. Firstborn humans also produce relatively high levels of cortisol in stimulating situations (such as the return of a parent after an absence). The study also found that during pregnancy, first-time mother monkeys had higher levels of cortisol than did those who had had several offspring."

Write a response in which you discuss one or more alternative explanations that could rival the proposed explanation and explain how your explanation(s) can plausibly account for the facts presented in the argument.

The argument recommends that the study of eighteen rhesus monkeys provides clues as to the effects of birth order on an individual's level of stimulation. However, this argument rests on many alternative explanations, and is therefore unpersuasive as it stands.

Firstly, we need more information about the study. This study only based on eighteen rhesus monkeys. The sample is too small to support the statement. The author claims that firstborn infant monkeys produce up to twice as much of the hormone cortisol when they are in stimulating situations. However, it is entirely possible that all monkeys have the same reaction in this situation. To be specific, the monkeys probably produce up to twice as much of the hormone cortisol, regardless of their ages.

Secondly, the author states that firstborn humans also produce high levels of cortisol in stimulating situations. Still, it is highly possible that all humans produce high levels of cortisol in stimulating situations, not because of their birth orders. Even though the human and monkeys both are the mammal, the experiments done in an animal might not hold the same expected effects when it is done in human.

Lastly, the author says that first-time monkeys had higher levels of cortisol. However, I argue that this point might not explain the author's claim well. During pregnancy, we do not know whether the higher level of cortisol between the mother and the baby is correlated or not. If the increase of hormones in the mother does not induce the babies' hormone, then this claim needs more explanations.

The claim is not convincing without ruling out the alternative explanations as above mentioned.