.The following memorandum is from the business manager of Happy Pancake House restaurants.

"Recently, butter has been replaced by margarine in Happy Pancake House restaurants throughout the southwestern United States. This change, however, has had little impact on our customers. In fact, only about 2 percent of customers have complained, indicating that an average of 98 people out of 100 are happy with the change. Furthermore, many servers have reported that a number of customers who ask for butter do not complain when they are given margarine instead. Clearly, either these customers do not distinguish butter from margarine or they use the term 'butter' to refer to either butter or margarine."

Write a response in which you discuss one or more alternative explanations that could rival the proposed explanation and explain how your explanation(s) can plausibly account for the facts presented in the argument.

The notion that butter could be replaced by margarine is cogent at first glance. Because only 2 percent people complain about it and no one react different after served margarine. At the same time, the less complains show customers' poor ability to dinstinct them. Nonewithless, that argument is filled up with assumptions and logical mistakes. Hence, many other explanations could be induced. Three reasons would suffice to support that idea.

To begin with, the arguer incorrectly assume that the people who do not complain are happy with the change. It is hard to deny the possibility that these customers dislike to call into trouble. They may prefer to other restaurants rather than complaining. In this case, the low percent of complaining belies the fact that many customers hate that change. What is more, the above survey's vaildity is skeptic. The restaurant may carry that survey in a specific period when students or other groups are main customers. There is no doubt that different groups have different tastes. In this way, more evidence ought to be provided to make the argument more persuasive.

Moreover, the arguer fails to robust the point that customers are satisfy with serving margarine. The customers may in a harry and do not chose to waste too much time on it. Futhermore, it is equally possible that these customers trust the restaurant, enduring terrible tastes. These customers may bring restaurant a bad reception after served differnt dishes. Therefore, the arguer should glean more information to rule out other explanations.

Finally, even if the explanations above are ruled out, the arguer still fails to assume customers could not distinct margarine means they are satisfy with it. Some people may blance their diet with calculation the nurtrients ingested everyday. At the same time, they may get allergic after taking margarine. These people may not react difffernt because unwitted. However, they would complain after knowing what they ate. And knowing what were they ate is also a significant reliability.

To sum up, the argument is less cogent than seems. Collecting more information is essential to preclude other explanations and make the argument more persuasive.