2.Fifteen years ago, Omega University implemented a new procedure that encouraged students to evaluate the teaching effectiveness of all their professors. Since that time, Omega professors have begun to assign higher grades in their classes, and overall student grade averages at Omega have risen by 30 percent. Potential employers, looking at this dramatic rise in grades, believe that grades at Omega are inflated and do not accurately reflect student achievement; as a result, Omega graduates have not been as successful at getting jobs as have graduates from nearby Alpha University. To enable its graduates to secure better jobs, Omega University should terminate student evaluation of professors.

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The notion that the student evaluation prevents students from getting well jobs may seem cogent at first glance. Because that evaluation inflated student's score and made the score less valid for employers. At the same time, students from Alpha University seem more successful at getting jobs. However, the argument is filled up with assumptions and logical mistakes. More evidence is demanded to make it more persuasive. Three reasons would suffice to support that idea.

To begin with, the arguer fails to prove the evaluation makes grade inflated. There is equally possible that professors found their garde system needs to be reformed for the rather more difficult lessons they teach. It is unfair to make the student who learning more erudite knowledge recieve low grade. At the same time, it is hard to deny the possibility that professors found a new method to teach efficiently and achieved a remarkable development embodied by students' grade. Hence, more evidence is needed to prove the link between evaluation and grade inflated.

Moreover, the arguer incorrectly assumes that potential employers are interested in students' grade. These employers may focus on the working skills which Omega University students ignored. The possibility that most employers recieved fund from other universities tends to employ their students is also considerable. Therefore, it is essential to prove that employers truely consider the garde of students is significant.

Finally, even if the assumptions above are true, the argument still fails to provide the evidence of rather poor case of getting jobs than Alpha University. It is fair to question the validity of that conclusion. There is no evidence showing that the conclusion comes from a comprehensive survey. They may just calculate the total number of students getting work. This would be incorrect without concerning the total students or students who chose a graduate school. The vague opinion could weakly support the argument. More persuasive evidence is demanded to robust it.

To sum up, the argument is less cogent than it seems. Opinion of cancelling evaluation should be reconsidered carefully. Providing more evidence is important to rule out other explanations.