Students should always question what they are taught instead of accepting it passively.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

Recently, a prevalent statement we often see is that students ought to accept knowledge passively. This is because catching up with questions too much would waste others time. Opponents, nonetheless, argue that questioning what students were taught is necessary. Only questioning could bring better comprehension. From a personal view, both are reasonable. The details would be discussed below.

To begin with, students are essential to avoid nonsense questions for saving others time. Specifically, catching up with nonsense questions not only waste the time of his own but also teacher's. In this case, it is significant to think thoroughly before asking. At the same time, not questioning too much in class time is also crucial. Class time is limited. Less time would be left if everyone asks their own questions. Worse than, the environment of teaching would be ruined. Teachers would have a hard time for unable to finish class. Hence, always questioning is not a fair method while learning.

Despite questioning too often have such harmful influence, accepting knowledge passively all the time seems more foolish. There is no doubt that teachers take an essential place in our studying. They could enhance studying efficiency significantly by not only teaching in class but also answering questions. Depending on a study from the University of Tokyo, students are divided into two groups to learn a specific book, one with a teacher but another not. About 89-percent of students in group one work better when facing a same task. In this case, the teacher provides the ability to learn more readily and correct the misconstrue. Hence, taking effort on solving easy questions by oneself and asking for help when facing real difficulties is an intelligent manner.

Admittedly, a minority of individuals tend to believe that solving questions by one's own also could induce misconstrue but hard to correct. Nevertheless if we could analyze this issue from a different view, we could find they have oversimplified the fact that learning by oneself is hard to avoid. At the same time, it is also the way to cultivate learning ability. There would not always be teachers sitting in our side. In this condition, trying to solve easy problems on one's own is a well beginning to improve learning ability.

To sum up, questioning too often or accepting knowledge passively all the time is both harmful. Therefore, one should try to work on his own at the beginning of meeting question. And never detest to ask teachers for help while getting in real troubles. Only in this way could learn be successful.