Nature's Way, a chain of stores selling health food and other health-related products, is opening its next franchise in the town of Plainsville. The store should prove to be very successful: Nature's Way franchises tend to be most profitable in areas where residents lead healthy lives, and clearly Plainsville is such an area. Plainsville merchants report that sales of running shoes and exercise clothing are at all-time highs. The local health club has more members than ever, and the weight training and aerobics classes are always full. Finally, Plainsville's schoolchildren represent a new generation of potential customers: these schoolchildren are required to participate in a fitness-for-life program, which emphasizes the benefits of regular exercise at an early age.

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The notion that Nature's Way would be profitable in Plainsville may seem cogent at first glance. The arguer suggests that the areas which lead healthy lives like Plainsville also make Nature's Way success and the health clubs have more people. At the same time, the students may also buy their products. However, these conclusions are filled up with assumptions and logical mistakes. Three reasons would suffice to support my opinion.

To begin with, the arguer incorrectly concluded the Plainsville would response like other area. However, residents of different area develop various habits. It is hard to deny the possibility that the product of Nature's Way could not satisfy the local people. Worse than, if the local stores have a large consumer base and people all believe the product of them. Nature's Way would have a hard time when competing with these stores. Hence, more evidence could be demanded to prove the validity of this conclusion.

Moreover, the arguer fails to assume that the large number of people in clubs could bring more customers. Nonetheless, no evidence is provided to prove the Plainsville have a similar population with other areas. It is equally possible that the large population or rather short of clubs makes the number of members seem large. At the same time, the arguer fails to substantiate the validity of the number of clubs. They may just take part in for other reasons but never come to exercise. Therefore, more persuasive evidence is needed to robust the arguer;s point.

Finally, even if the assumptions above are true, the arguer still fails to assume that these schoolchildren could bring them benefits. Because schoolchildren have no reliable income to support their life, they could never be the main customers. If their parents make them focus on studying, the less time would be left to do sport. At the same time, students may prefer game more rather than sport. Therefore, it is necessary to reconsider the living condition and living style of local students.

To sum up, the argument is less persuasive than seem. The opinion that Nature's Way would be profitable also untenable. More correspond information is needed to support the arguer's assumptions and rule out other explanations.