Woven baskets characterized by a particular distinctive pattern have previously been found only in the immediate vicinity of the prehistoric village of Palea and therefore were believed to have been made only by the Palean people Recently however archa

The author states that the Palean baskets were not uniquely Palean because the baskets, which recently found in the immediate vicinity of the Palean village and so-called Palean baskets were discovered in Lithos village. Although the argument seems convincing at first, the lack of evidence leads me to question the validity.

First, the author needs to provide solid evidence to prove that the basket, which was discovered in Lithos, was originated in Palean village. She hastily concludes that the distinct pattern of basket utilized only in the prehistoric village of Palean, so the basket was made by people from Palean. However, archaeologists discovered only one basket in Lithos, which means that it could be a coincidence or the pattern of the basket might be popular for every village. This indicates that it is not enough information to argue that the basket came from Palean village. In addition, the author should not conclude from the fact that only one basket was discovered recently. The conclusion should be made in the long run if other baskets or evidence are found in the future. If other baskets are not discovered in a few years, her argument would be weakened. Hence, the author should not rashly deduce that the basket was originated from the Palean.

Second, more concrete pieces of evidence are needed on the boat which was able to cross between Lithos and Palean village. The author argues that Palean people must have crossed the Brim River by boat because the river is so deep and broad, but the boat has not been found yet. It is quite plausible that the Palean people cross the river by walk because in the past the river was not deep and broad, so they did not need to take the boat to go to other villages. Also, without ruling out all other possible explanations for other boats have not been discovered yet is still unwarranted. No discovery does not mean that Palean people did not have any boat at all. It is possible that the Palean’s boat were broken because of the adverse typhoon in the past. Therefore, the author should not hastily deduce that Palean people had to take the boat to go to the Lithos village.

Lastly, the author needs to add concrete evidence to the argument that Palean baskets were not uniquely Palean because recently the basket was discovered in Lithos were across the Brim River from Palea. In all likelihood, Only Palean people used the distinctive pattern and they gave Lithos village the basket as the gift. This indicates that the baskets were uniquely Palean. In addition, it is possible that Lithos’ people had the boats which were able to cross the river and they brought lots of baskets to their village. In this case, without any more detailed information, we could not trust the author’s argument that the baskets of Palean were not uniquely Palean and also used by Lithos people.

In conclusion, the author argues that the so-called Palean baskets were only possessed by Palean people is invalid. To bolster the argument, she needs to reconsider the possibility of the boat the archaeologist has not been found.