The following report appeared in the newsletter of the West Meria Public Health Council.

"An innovative treatment has come to our attention that promises to significantly reduce absenteeism in our schools and workplaces. A study reports that in nearby East Meria, where fish consumption is very high, people visit the doctor only once or twice per year for the treatment of colds. Clearly, eating a substantial amount of fish can prevent colds. Since colds represent the most frequently given reason for absences from school and work, we recommend the daily use of Ichthaid—a nutritional supplement derived from fish oil—as a good way to prevent colds and lower absenteeism."

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

In the newsletter of the West Meria Public Health Council, the author recommends that people should use Ichthaid in order to prevent colds and frequent absenteeism because the medicine from the fish oil has a nutritional supplement which make people be healthy. Although the argument may seem convincing at first, the lack of evidence leads me to question the validity of the argument.

Firstly, the author needs to supplement solid evidence to the argument that West Meria’s residents should consume fish because fish have a nutritional supplement, preventing cold. It is likely that people in nearby East Meria did not catch colds because of climate condition. The East Meria is located in front of mountain which prevent the town from all winds, so the weather is warmer than the West Meria. Also, in that town, there might be few doctors to see compared to the West. Without ruling out other possibilities, the author cannot hastily conclude that people in West Meria should consume more fish oil to be healthier than before because people live in East Meria, who eat a substantial amount of fish, do not catch a cold.

Secondly, more pieces of concrete evidence needed to the argument that daily use of Ichthaid can help to reduce frequent absences of students and employees. The reason is that colds represent the most frequently given reason for absences, so daily consumption of Ichthaid would prevent cold and absences from people. However, can Ichthaid be replaced with whole nutrition that fish have? It is quite plausible that other elements in fish oil were beneficial to reduce colds, which means that consumption of Ichthaid would not have effects on the prevention of colds. Also, even if the Ichthaid is helpful to colds, the author do not provide any information about side effects of taking Ichthaid. Every medicine can cause side effects, so it should be careful to consume daily medicine especially for children or the old. It could be possible that children who are fragile to consume the Ichthaid are easily to get fever because of side effect. Hence, people should not consume Ichthaid daily unless the author gives more solid evidence.

Lastly, the author needs to add more concrete evidence on Ichthaid’s effects. The author rashly concludes that frequent absences from school or works can be ameliorated by consuming Ichthaid because it is helpful to get better from cold. In all likelihood, cold would not the main reason for absences of employees and students. They may be absent schools or companies because they are diagnosed with other disease. Since the West Meria is located in the middle of the big river, people might suffer from strong stomachache due to water pollution. In this case, residents could not prevent the absences by consuming Ichthaid. Hence, If author does not give more evidence of relationship between Ichthaid and absences, her argument cannot be justified based on assumption.

In conclusion, the author argument that West Meria’s people should take Ichthaid to prevent colds and frequent absences is invalid. To bolster the argument, she should reconsider other possibilities of consumption of fish and prevention colds and absences from school and work.