Woven baskets characterized by a particular distinctive pattern have previously been found only in the immediate vicinity of the prehistoric village of Palea and therefore were believed to have been made only by the Palean people. Recently, however, archaeologists discovered such a "Palean" basket in Lithos, an ancient village across the Brim River from Palea. The Brim River is very deep and broad, and so the ancient Paleans could have crossed it only by boat, and no Palean boats have been found. Thus it follows that the so-called Palean baskets were not uniquely Palean.

In the argument the author questions the uniqueness of the Palean baskets. He based his assumptions on the recent discovery of those Palean baskets in regions other than Palea, geographical disadvantages to spread the baskets, absence of Palean boats. However, his conclusion is based on some unwarranted assumptions. To prove the persuasiveness of the author's argument, the following three questions need to be addressed.

First of all, Does the discovery of Palean baskets only in the Palean region really proves that these baskets are really unique to palea?

It may not be necessarily the case. Perhaps these kinds of baskets were made by people from other regions also but the evidence had vanished or they are yet to be found. In reality, it may also happen that, Palean people imported these baskets from different regions.

If one or more of the abovementioned cases are true then it will question the uniqueness of the Palean baskets.

Secondly, the author assumes that the Brim River hasn't changed its course over time. What if the river was narrow and shallow in the past and has changed drastically recently for some geographical reason. Maybe in the past, it was so small that Palean people were actually able to pass it just by swimming or by walking. It may also happen that the river was almost the same as it is today but some of its portions were passable. Inability to correctly answer these questions jeopardize the persuasiveness of the author's argument.

Finally, does the Brim River being deep and broad means there were no other means of passing the river other than a boat ? What if Palean people were good swimmers or they built a bridge on the river and continuously traded with Lithos. Perhaps it was actually the Litho people who actually crossed the river and brought the baskets with them.

The author's argument is flawed in a different aspect. To make it plausible and genial, the author should support his argument by providing some reasonable and scientific facts rather depending on some vague assumptions.