Nature's Way, a chain of stores selling health food and other health-related products, is opening its

next franchise in the town of Plainsville. The store should prove to be very successful: Nature's

Way franchises tend to be most profitable in areas where residents lead healthy lives, and clearly

Plainsville is such an area. Plainsville merchants report that sales of running shoes and exercise

clothing are at all-time highs. The local health club has more members than ever, and the weight

training and aerobics classes are always full. Finally, Plainsville's schoolchildren represent a new

generation of potential customers: these schoolchildren are required to participate in a fitness-

for-life program, which emphasizes the benefits of regular exercise at an early age.

The argument states that Nature's way's next franchise which is going to sell health foods would be a profitable one in Plainsville as people in the town live a healthy life and their children are going to the future customers. However, this claim is based on some unwarranted assumptions rife with holes and uncertainty, which to make this claim more persuasive, needs further clarification.

First of all, it states that the people of Plainsville are already health-conscious, meaning they are already buying healthy food. Maybe there are other stores that are selling good quality foods at a fair price. Older stores may be more likely to be popular among customers as they are in business for a long time. If this is the case, then the new store is going to face hard competition. So keeping competition from other stores in the account, Nature's way's new store may not be as much as successful as anticipated.

Secondly, Plainsville merchants report about high sales of running shoes and exercise clothing which has very little to provide anticipation about sales of healthy foods are going to rise or not. Maybe people are more into running and exercising than to eat healthy food. Nowadays 'organic' food is a buzzword. What if people in Plainsville prefer organic or homemade food rather than buying from stores? A rise in sales of other health-related products doesn't necessarily mean that sales in health food would also increase. The report provided by Plainsville merchants may not be reliable.

Finally, Plainsville's schoolchildren are being considered as potential future customers which may not be guaranteed. We don't know where these kids are going to live in the future. Perhaps they will move to another city once they grow up. Let's assume that they will live in Plainsville for the rest of their life but what is the guarantee that they will follow a healthy lifestyle like their parents? Considering these factors, treating schoolchildren as future customers may be a vague idea.

The author may need to do further research on peoples eating habit, present stores in Plainsville, types of food they sell to their customersto make his claim more persuasive and practical rather than relying on some limited and contrived idea.