Twenty years ago, Dr. Field, a noted anthropologist, visited the island of Tertia. Using an observation-centered approach to studying Tertian culture, he concluded from his observations that children in Tertia were reared by an entire village rather than by their own biological parents. Recently another anthropologist, Dr. Karp, visited the group of islands that includes Tertia and used the interview-centered method to study child-rearing practices. In the interviews that Dr. Karp conducted with children living in this group of islands, the children spent much more timetalking about their biological parents than about other adults in the village. Dr. Karp decided that Dr. Field's conclusion about Tertian village culture must be invalid. Some anthropologists recommend that to obtain accurate information on Tertian child-rearing practices, future research on the subject should be conducted via the interview-centered method.

In the argument, the author put much emphasis on Dr Karp’s interview-based method and suggests that,according to some anthropologist future research should be based on Dr Karp’s approach. To support his claims he states the result obtained from the interview on some children. But his contention is based on some unwarranted assumptions,that ,to make the claim more viable needed to be addressed. To make his argument more cogent,following three questions should to be answered.

The author compare two experiments which were separated from each other by a 20 years of gap. What if the family practices has changed a lot over the course of time?It may happen that at the time when Dr. Filed conducted is experiment social structure of the island was such that children were actually reared by the entire village but that practice have changed over time. May be due to social, economic,political and technological changes the family has shifted to family-centered child rearing approach .If this is the case ,then Dr. karp’s assertion about the invalidity of Dr Field’s Conclusion about Tertian village culture may not hold water.

Secondly, Dr karp’s conclusion was based on interviewing some children from some islands along with Tertia. What if the children asked were not actually a representative sample of the whole village? Maybe he asked some random children on the street or may be they were from other island while the practices were totally different than that of the Tertia. Moreover, what questioned were asked during the interviews is another matter to be carefully examined. Perhaps, he explicitly asked the children about their parents and no questions were asked about the villagers. That’s why they were talking more about their parents. If that is the case ,then some questions raise about the authenticity of the interview he conducted.

Finally, the author’s intimation about future experiments in accordance with ‘some’

experts’ recommendation is rife with some holes and questions that is required to be answered. What do other experts suggest? Maybe there are some experts who supports Dr karp’s method but rest of the experts are actually not sure about the viability of the method. Perhaps, they (the rest of the experts) support the previous method of observation conducted by Dr Field. It may also happen that, some experts support interview-based method just because it proved to be working in a different region where social practices were totally different but there is no guarantee that it will work in the Tertia island.

The author needs to give a thorough and scientific explanation about how the interviews were conducted, on whom they were conducted what questioned were asked. Posing a conclusion based on some experts suggestion ,rather than