Every individual in a society has a responsibility to obey just laws and to disobey and resist unjust laws.

When we look back at our histor, we can clearly see that the contrast between our feelings of what is right or wrong and what our society had compelled us to obey gave rise to violence, rebellion and even war. The argument points out the contrast and state that we should disobey and resists the laws that seems unjust to us. I mostly agree with the prompt but not thoroughly as individual’s perception of right or wrong may vary greatly from the rest of the society.

In some cases, laws might be unjust and may not go with our common sense of right or wrong.

Some laws are based on principles that violates basic human right,biased to the majority of the people while violating the rights of the minority group. For instance,When we look at the tyrannical regime,where the ruling authority continuously tries to dominate over the citizens, they pass such laws that makes their thrones deep rooted even by depriving it’s citizens civil rights. In Saudi Arabia women cannot drive, they cannot go out without a male companion. One may be executed just because posting a social media post that go against the regime. There is no scope for free speech and thinking. One may be easily put into jail and executed for going against the regime and talk in favor of women’s right .They are not doing it just by force. They have passed laws and are passing more that gives the regime the rights to bluntly stop anyone who is opposing them without giving any chances to the accused to speak in favor of their positions. These kinds of laws violates our basic rights as a human being and works only for the rulers to cement their control over the population. Such laws are not acceptable to a rational human being, so should be condemned and resisted immediately.

However, not all laws violates human rights. So the decisions whether they are right or wrong is not black and white .The righteousness of a law is a subjective issue which may very greatly from the collective sense. For example, a drug dealer may think that there is no wrong in selling and distributing drug as he is doing this for fun and bringing pleasure to others. If he tries to go against the strict laws against drug abuse ,then it will not be a compelling opposition and will not gain much support. This kind of opposition may even prove detrimental to the society. If a group of people oppose certain laws ,that doesn’t necessarily proves that those laws they are opposing are erroneous ,as our collective sense of right or wrong may be affected by years of propaganda,deceit ,social values and religious belief. For instance, at the time of Abraham Lincoln ,when laws were passed against slavery some people opposed the law as they thought it was right to have other human beings as slaves and the number of peoples who opposed the laws were not few. So the sense of right or wrong may even very in a collective sense .

There are many aspects of the argument which provides different images as seen from different angles. Though many righteous laws may seem unjust to us ,we should raise our voice and resist unjust laws .