Nations should pass laws to preserve remaining wilderness areas in their natural state, even if these areas could be developed for economic gain.

There is always a connection between the reduction of wilderness and development. As our civilization is advancing, we can see more and more destruction and reduction of forests. The argument states that nations should pass laws in favor of protecting the wilderness even if it hampers economic growth. I strongly agree with the prompt because to me no development is sustainable if nature is not preserved.

From the inception of our civilization, we have seen that development is directly proportional to environmental degradation. Most of the times industrial, economical growth has worked as a catalyst for environmental pollution and reduction in forest land. For instance, when Colombus first arrived at present-day America, it was mostly inhabitable forest land. After hundreds of years of hard work, one of the most advanced civilization stands there. On the other hand, more than half of the continent's wilderness has been destroyed during the progress of American civilization. One time we needed a place to live, needed places to build industries to make our life easier. A vast amount of wilderness was destroyed to make cities, roads, airports and many more. At that time the world's population was much less than what it is today. There was a vast amount of uncharted forests at t other places. Things like global warming, the rise of sea level, air pollution were not of that concern. So, people were not that concerned about the environment, but things have changed over time. We are now facing major environmental threats like temperature increase, Ozone layer dissolution, melting of polar ice which will inturn going to increase sea level, flooding many coastal cities like Newyork, New Delhi, Venice, etc. The earth's temperature is increasing every year, lands are losing their fertility, many species of animals and trees have been extinct and many more are following them every day.

So we need to take major steps to preserve our existence. However, People do not seem to be concerned. We are continuously destroying valuable forest lands which are necessary for our own existence. For example, The Amazon rain forest which is called the 'lungs of the earth' is losing its area every year. People are continuously cutting down trees, burning areas which are the only habitat of many endangered species to plant palm trees, and other crops. This kind of destructive activities mostly arises from economic gains. This forest is said to provide 20% of the total oxygen that humans inhale. So, this kind of activities will lead to massive natural calamities. As a society and civilization, we have come a long way. We no longer need more places to make houses as we did before. Multistoried buildings can accommodate a large number of people in a small place. With the advancement technologies, we can grow four to five times more crops at a smaller place which has reduced the necessity for cultivable land. Industries can now be set up in barren places like the desert or at some places where wilderness will not be threatened.

Some people may argue that to ensure a better life we need economical growth. They may also support some developing countries approach to prefer economic growth over preserving the environment. But our very existence depends on the environment itself. These kinds of development will not sustain for a long period. We may have tall buildings, exotic cities, sophisticated machines that were meant to make our life easier but what is the point of having such kind of technologies while we cannot protect the environment which is the most needed thing for our existence.

It is high time that nations should take immediate actions. We are heading to a critical point from where there would be no coming back.

If we continue to do what we are doing now, maybe in a decade we are going to hit the bottom, we would not be able to reverse what we have done, we will be left with no other option but to see humanity go extinct.