Every individual in a society has a responsibility to obey just laws and to disobey and resist unjust laws.

The statement supports that every individual in a society has a responsibility to obey just laws and to disobey and resist unjust laws. In my opinion, I disagree with the claim for several reasons. The constitution that exist in our country is the result of the democracy, which means that the population voted for the politics that are creating, innovating, improving the laws. Hence, as we voted for those people, and the democracy is a political system which there is no distinctive between people, all individuals must obey all the kind of laws, just and unjust laws.

To clarify my opinion, imagine two people that drink a glass of wine and decide to drive afterwards. one is dizzy, crash his car into a store and kill a person. Another is felling completely fine, but he was spotted by the police and were asked to check the percentage of alcohol in his body. As he drunk a wine glass, he went to jail. if you ask the second person, obviously he would say that is unfair because he is felling in perfect conditions to drive. but if you ask the first individual, he would say that he was wrong about driving and committed a mistake. Both individuals ingested the same amount of alcohol percentage, but one was not felling in good conditions and the other was.

The government can not apply the dry law considering if the individual is strong enough or not drinking alcohol. it is wrong to drive when you drink alcohol not only because of you, but other’s safety. it can be unjust for the person who did not crashed his car into something or someone. but what if he did? For this reasons laws must be obeyed by everyone and not distinguished who deserves or not to follow.

On the other hand, if you disagree with some law, you should try to claim it, not resist. For example, abortion law. In some states of United states, you can not have an abortion. if you have an opinion that the couple or woman are the only ones who need to decide if they are ready or not to have a child, and its their decision to have a abortion, trying to resist is the worse idea. Going to outlaw clinics can harm the woman’s body, because normally this clinics do not have infrastructure enough to help a woman if she collapses or have some trouble in the middle of the procedure. therefore trying to resist this law can only increase the number of woman that dies trying to abort. In Brazil, as is against the law having an abortion, many woman are trying to convert this situation doing manifestations in the streets, undersigned documents to get to the legislative power.

Given the above, in can be concluded that every individual has a responsibility to obey just and unjust laws, such as dry law and abortion law. Mainly if the country are ruled by democracy, the majority of the population voted for the politicians that are making our laws. therefore it is a fair condition. Further, in the same way, trying to resist the laws can only damage the constitution. As the laws are for everyone, it can not be eligible only for some people.