"Over the past three years, there has been a marked increase in cases of 'sidewalk rage,' similar to the irrational anger drivers experience on the road, but instead among sidewalk walkers. The result is an increase in assaults, property damage, and disruptions of normal pedestrian traffic. In order to address this growing problem, the council must ban cell phone use on sidewalks. Not only do people texting or using their phones slow down pedestrian traffic, but they are also more likely to walk into the road or bump into other walkers. Children are especially vulnerable because they are too short to be easily seen. Middletown passed such a ban and not only have they heard no complaints, but the reported incidents of sidewalk crime have gone down significantly."

In the passage, the author points out cell phone use as the main cause behind increases 'sidewalk rage' and he suggests that banning cellphone on the sidewalk is going to solve this problem as it worked for Midtown. However, his conclusion is based on some unclear and unwarranted assumptions, which are needed to be clarified to make his claim more acceptable and persuasive.

First of all, he states that cellphone use is the main culprit behind the problem. While it may be true that people use a cellphone while walking but it is not actually the main contributor to increased sidewalk rage. Maybe the population is too high while the sidewalks are not wide enough to accommodate a large number of people. so, during rush hour while most of the people are rushing to workplaces there may be some disruptions of normal traffic. If these are the case, then banning cell phone will not do any good to reduce 'sidewalk rage'. Thus, the author's prescribed solution to the problem would be invalid.

Secondly, he compares two regions, which, in reality, may not be comparable at all.

May be Middle town's sidewalk problem was actually due to increased cell phone usage but in the first region mentioned, this type of ban may not work. What if the first place mentioned is actually a tourist spot, most of the pedestrians are stopping or moving slowly to watch some beautiful buildings or natural views. Their excessive photo-taking with cameras may be actually causing the problem not the cell phone usage. If the two cities reasons behind 'sidewalk rage' are different then one's approach may not be relevant to the other. Then the authors claim will be greatly weakened.

Finally, The authors claim as if banning cellphone was the only cause that reduced sidewalk crime. There might be other factors that had more influences on reduced sidewalk rage than banning cellphone. May be authorities fined people who engaged in such activities or it may be the seasonal change that caused a reduction in sidewalk rage. Maybe the survey was done while it was winter and snowing heavily, most of the people were inside their houses, that consequently led to lower sidewalk crime.

The author needs to provide clearer and more scientific data-driven results to make his claim more persuasive. Further research in what is actually causing sidewalk rage may be needed that will provide enough data encompassing population density, traffic during rush hour and most importantly what percent of people actually use a cellphone while walking to make the author's claim hold water.