"Medical experts say that only one-quarter of Corpora's citizens meet the current standards for adequate physical fitness, even though twenty years ago, one-half of all of Corpora's citizens met the standards as then defined. But these experts are mistaken when they suggest that spending too much time using computers has caused a decline in fitness. since overall fitness levels are highest in regions of Corpora where levels of computer ownership are also highest, it is clear that using computers has not made citizens less physically fit. Instead, as shown by this year's unusually low expenditures on fitness-related product and services, the recent decline in the economy is most likely the cause, and fitness levels will improve when the economy does."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on the

In the argument, the author suggests that a decline in the economy is the main cause for diminishing fitness of the Corpora's citizen. So, he assumes that the fitness of the citizens is directly related to the cities economy and will improve along with the economy. However, his assumptions are based on some unwarranted reasoning. To make his argument more persuasive following evidence are required.

First of all, the author rejects the experts claim about the computer being the main culprit for loss in the fitness of citizens. To support his contention he represents the fitness level of the regions where computer ownership is high. But in reality, it may happen that most of the computers are not actually personal computers on which people spend most of the days rather the commercial computer used for some specific purposes. Maybe that region is actually a commercial area filled with offices who use a large number of computers which increases per head computer ownership whereas, rest of the people doesn't have a single computer. Maybe that region is a rich neighborhood where most of the citizens own several computers while they use none or one or two of them. In other regions, it may be the case that most of the people living there are teenagers who spend a lot of time sitting in front of their computers all day and in those regions, computers are actually playing an important role in declining people's fitness. If this is the case in reality, then economic growth might actually contribute to declining people's health, as people will be more affluent to buy more computers.

Secondly, he compares present-day fitness standard with that of 20 years earlier. while, in reality, these two standards may not be comparable at all. Maybe the earlier standard was based on food habit, people's lifestyle, the economic condition and other criteria of the time when these aspects were much more different than what it is today. Maybe the previous standard was too easy to follow that's why the percentage of people who met the standard was high. If this standard is followed today, then today's percentage might be even higher then what it was 20 years ago. When it comes to the standard, there is a potential that the standard is impractical and giving a false image of the people's fitness whereas the condition is much better in reality.

Finally, the author directly relates the unwillingness of people to buy fitness product directly to economic condition. In reality, maybe the people are not that poor but are not willing to buy fitness products. Perhaps, they are not that concerned about their health and fitness and often indulge in activities which are detrimental to health. What is it is the case that they drink to much alcohol or eat too much fast food that the health condition of the citizens is declining. Maybe their economic condition is not related to their health at all. Maybe the environment in which they are living is not healthy, most of the foods they are eating are not nutritious enough. If this is the case then improving the economic condition of the city will do no good in improving people's health and the author's prediction about improved health condition will not come true.

The author's argument is based on some superfluous assumptions which are rife with holes and lacks enough evidence. He needs to look deep into what is actually causing the deterioration in people's health rather coming into conclusion early and in doing so scientific surveys, expert's opinion (which he declines )might come in handy.