Some people believe that studying at university or college is the best route to
a successful career, while others believe that it is better to get a job straight
after school. Discuss both views.
Right after finishing high school, teenagers often wonder whether they ought
to continue their education or get a job. While many people believe that
keeping on studying at a college or university will be the best way to
guarantee a successful career, others claim that working straight after school
is a better option.
Start working straight after graduation is beneficial for several reasons.
Firstly, by working, young people will be able to start earning money as soon
as possible. As a result, they will be mature enough, and be able to live
independently on their own income. Secondly, a person who decides to look
for a job rather than pursuing higher education is likely to have a chance to
obtain a lot of real experience and practical skills. This may lead them to
progress more quickly in their chosen profession.
On the other hand, some people argue that it is more beneficial for young
people to continue their studies after high school. Firstly, a college education
prepares students to meet academic qualifications, which most employers
require nowadays. Consequently, university graduates usually have
opportunities to earn higher salaries than those without qualifications. In
addition, the job market is becoming increasingly competitive since hundreds
of applicants often chase one position in an organization. Having a degree is
an obvious advantage that university graduates have. In many countries,
students who graduate with an engineering degree are highly paid and have
an easy time getting a good job.
In conclusion, it is true to say that both working straight after high school and
continuing higher-level studies each has their own unique advantages.