"Over the past year, our late-night news program has devoted increasingly more time to covering national news and less time to covering weather and local news. During the same time period, most of the complaints we received from viewers were concerned with the station's coverage of weather and local news. In addition, several local businesses that used to run advertisements during our late-night news program have just canceled their advertising contracts with us. Therefore, in order to attract more viewers to our news programs and to avoid losing any further advertising revenues, we should expand the coverage of weather and local news on all our news programs."

In the argument, the author states that they are losing audiences and advertising avenues and to overcome that they needed the expansion of weather and local news on all local news. He or she based his projection on viewers complain about local and weather news and cancellation of contracts by the local business. The author relies on three unwarranted assumptions, that in order for the argument to hold water should be substantiated. Thus to prove the effectiveness of the argument the author should provide the following pieces evidence.

The author needs to provide additional data about the complaints themselves. Maybe there are 100 complaints out of which only 10-20 percent were actually about the reduction in coverage time . Most of the complaints may be were for separate reasons which had nothing to do with the reduction of weather and local news. May be the presentation of the news were not up to the mark, there were too much advertisement in between, or the quality of coverage was bad. Perhaps they were only providing weather news for a certain region only while the audiences wanted to know about the weather of the whole country. It may also happen that the local news they were providing were biased and circulating false rumors and that’s why the audiences were actually complaining about. If one or more of the above mentioned criteria is true this will certainly undermine the author’s assumption.

Secondly, The author surmises that the loss in revenue was the aftermath of reducing weather and local news coverage time. There is a potential that advertisers have found a new way to advertise their product that is cheaper and easily accessible to wide range of viewers. May be they were advertising their products through Facebook, internet, Youtube or some other social media site where can they get more audiences at a cheaper price. Perhaps they were advertising products that were not appropriate for the late night audiences.

In all these cases, it implies that a reduction in coverage amount has nothing to do with a reduction in revenue, thereby weakening the persuasiveness of the author's assumptions.

Finally, the author concludes that to get back the audience and advertising revenue , they need an expansion on weather and local news on all news.But what if it is the case that, not all of the news has same number of audiences. May be night shows have more audiences than morning or afternoon shows when most of the people are busy at work. Perhaps in the afternoon or morning most of the viewers are kids and teenagers,to whom,weather and local news may not be that appealing. It may even backfire.

To make his assumptions more palatable and persuasive, the author needs to take into account the three above mentioned criteria. He is required to base his assumptions on research and scientific data rather than vague assumptions.