A nation should require all of its students to study the same national curriculum until they enter college. A nation should require all of its students to study the same national curriculum until they enter college

A National curriculum that students go through before entering college plays a significant role in a student's later life both economically and socially. Different student requires a different kind of treatment to thrive. So, I strongly disagree with the prompt that students must go through the same curriculum. Countrywide curriculum keeps the doors open for spreading propaganda by the govt or the ruling party.

A universal curriculum treats all of the students in a country same regardless of the students family, social and cultural background.

They go through the same system while the system may not fit all. Furthermore, Implementing such a curriculum may also cost a great deal both financially and socially. It may even destroy a student's true potential.

To begin, A curriculum designed by the government has the possibility of being prone to becoming a propaganda tool designed for nothing but to further the dubious scheme of an authoritarian regime. For example, The North Korean government has institutionalized an education system that idolizes the rules, gives the impression that their leader is the best, they are the best nation in the world.

All other nations are plotting against them. This kind of imposed curriculum keeps the citizens in a foggy situation, keeps them away from the truth. Making its citizens jingoist and loyal from the childhood the government keeps its regime from falling apart. The Same cases also happen in Saudi Arabia where children from a very early age go through rigorous religious curriculum leaving no place for free-thinking, scientific endeavor. This kind of hardcoded curriculum often destroys the student's ability to reason and think outside the box.

It becomes very hard for the students to let go off what has already been hammered into their head. This is a common tool for most of the tyrannical regime of the world right now to protect their throne by turning the citizen nothing but a bunch of sheep.

Secondly, in a country students come from a different socio-economic and cultural background. Some parts of the country are rich and some parts are poor. So the students won't get equal opportunity and resources. The same curriculum maybe walks in the park while for others it will be a hard nut to crack. There will never a universal curriculum that is able to encompass all of the different cultural elements in a country if it has diverse cultural differences. For instance, there are more than 10 official languages in India, each one of which is spoken in different parts of the country. Now if they are required to design a universal curriculum for the country, it is almost impossible to include all of the languages in the curriculum and this is something which is unnecessary. In this case, the best solution would be to design a different curriculum for different states that focuses on its cultural and economic condition with some common elements (like science, technology,etc.) that are common to all other states.

Finally, the implementation of such a standard would require a great deal of regulation possibly intrusive, as each classroom and teacher would have to be deemed satisfactory to meet the standards. Perhaps, it would require a universal testing system to recognize the effectiveness of such a system. Such a massive task would cost a lot. There is a possibility that students will study just for the sake of passing the exam thereby, subverting the idea behind the study which is to learn and create. The system will test a student just by a score rather than his actual potential. To give the students the real opportunity to thrive, they should be given individual attention not a system of mass educating. For example, a child who is a gifted artist, burdening him with all the science, math and technological staff won't take him anywhere. It would rather destroy his potential. He should be given the opportunity to wander in the realm of art rather than going through the same boring curriculum like everyone else.

Some may argue that all the students should be given equal opportunity, so the curriculum should be the same for all. But the point is the results doesn't come from the implementation of the curriculum, it comes from how students are dealing with it.

Creating a curriculum that is same for all students, would be tedious and detrimental to a nation as it may be used for propagandizing countries citizen, stirring up racial and cultural segregation and would be of great cost that will give back nothing.