The council of Maple County, concerned about the county’s becoming overdeveloped, is debating a

proposed measure that would prevent the development of existing farmland in the county. But the

council is also concerned that such a restriction, by limiting the supply of new housing, could lead

to significant increases in the price of housing in the county. Proponents of the measure note that

Chestnut County established a similar measure ten years ago and its housing prices have

increased only modestly since. However, opponents of the measure note that Pine County adopted

restrictions on the development of new residential housing fifteen years ago, and its housing

prices have since more than doubled. The council currently predicts that the proposed measure, if

passed, will result in a significant increase in housing prices in Maple County.

The council of Maple County is concerned about the hindrance in the county's development by restricting the supply of new housing. On the contrary, they are also concerned about an increase in housing prices due to the restriction. However, their assumption that the price will increase as a result of restriction is based on some unwarranted assumptions, which, to prove their point valid and persuasive need to be clarified.

Firstly, they assume that the county is being overdeveloped and they attribute this phenomenon only to the increase in housing. Maybe the population of the county is growing rapidly, they need more supply of houses that will meet the demand. Due to its good living conditions, more people are migrating to the county from nearby counties. An Increase in housing perhaps is a necessity, not something excessive. If this is the case, then the council's assumption that the county is being overdeveloped will not hold water.

Secondly, proponents of the supporters give a 10 years old example of Chestnut County that took the same approach without an increase in housing prices. The two timelines may not be comparable at all. Maybe 10 years ago the population was much less than today, so the demand for new houses was low. Maybe most of the people of the chestnut county already owned a house, most of them didn't need a new house, thus the demand for new houses was proportionate to the low supply. After 10 years Maple county may face an outcome completely opposite of that faced by Chestnut.

Finally, opponents of the approach also give the example of Pine county where restriction of housing indeed increased the price. Perhaps Pine County was a developing county 15 years ago, people were coming around the country to Pine county to get jb, to have a better living standard. It may also happen that people were more affluent in Pine County so, buying a new house was not a big deal for them.

15 years later there is no guarantee that, Mapple city is going to face the same fate Pine city did.Maybe economy has changed a lot during these 15 years. Perhaps, Mapple county-dwellers are actually moving to nearby cities and demand for housing is actually decreasing. Thus, restriction on housing in Mapple county, may not increase housing prices like it did in Pine county.

The council may not be accurate in their prediction as there is a variety of criteria that were not taking into account while assuming what is going to happen in the future. Further research on people's income, demand on housing, the present price of houses may provide a deep insight into this problem.