Fifteen years ago, Omega University implemented a new procedure that encouraged students to

evaluate the teaching effectiveness of all their professors. Since that time, Omega professors have

begun to assign higher grades in their classes, and overall student grade averages at Omega have

risen by 30 percent. Potential employers, looking at this dramatic rise in grades, believe that

grades at Omega are inflated and do not accurately reflect student achievement; as a result,

Omega graduates have not been as successful at getting jobs as have graduates from nearby Alpha

University. To enable its graduates to secure better jobs, Omega University should terminate

student evaluation of professors.

The argument states that the grades at Omega university have become inflated as teachers are giving high grades to get a better evaluation from the students. As a result, employers are reluctant to hire Omega university students as thus, the process of evaluation of professors by students should be terminated. However, this assertion is based on some unwarranted assumptions, which to make the argument more persuasive need to be clarified.

First of all, the rise in grade has negatively been related to Professors' evaluation, assuming the teachers are giving away good grades to

get a good evaluation. But in reality, this may not be the case. Maybe the university has taken some steps that contributed to the rise in grades. Perhaps they have become selective in their admission process, admitting students with only high CGPA and good grades, consequently getting a good outcome. In contrast with the argument, maybe the professors have actually become more serious and active in teaching and hence, students are doing better. So, in that case, terminating the evaluation process may go against the universities' interest.

Secondly, It may be true that there is actually inflation in grades but student's evaluation may not be the culprit behind this. Maybe the university is trying to get more students, trying to earn more money that's why they are giving away good grades to the student or it's

just that their student evaluation process is faulty which doesn't evaluate a student's potential thoroughly. To get back their reputation they may need to examine their curriculum and methodologies rather than terminating the evaluation process.

Finally, maybe it's true that graduates from a nearby Alpha university are getting more jobs but it may not just because employers are are not willing to recruit from Omega university. Perhaps, Alpha graduates have skills that are more practical and marketable. Maybe nearby recruiters require science and maths graduates while most of the Omega graduates are Arts graduates. If this is the case, then contrast in supply and demand is the main reason behind Omega graduates' failure in a job, not the employers' false notion about so-called grade inflation.

Student's evaluation of professors may or may not be the case behind the grade inflammation or in all potentiality, there is no inflation at all. Maybe the improvement in grades which is a result of the combined efforts of the students, teachers, and the university is being subjected to skepticism unfairly.