The following is a recommendation from the personnel director to the president of Acme

Publishing Company.

"Many other companies have recently stated that having their employees take the Easy Read

Speed-Reading Course has greatly improved productivity. One graduate of the course was able to

read a 500-page report in only two hours; another graduate rose from an assistant manager to

vice president of the company in under a year. Obviously, the faster you can read, the more

information you can absorb in a single workday. Moreover, Easy Read would cost Acme only $500

per employee - a small price to pay when you consider the benefits. Included in this fee is a three-

week seminar in Spruce City and a lifelong subscription to the Easy Read newsletter. Clearly,

Acme would benefit greatly by requiring all of our employees to take the Easy Read course."

In the argument, the personnel director recommends the president of Acme company to make all of its employees take the Speed-reading course for greater productivity. He thinks taking the course will help Acme to gain profit because other companies have reported the course to be beneficial. However, the director's suggestion is based on some unwarranted assumptions, which are rife with wholes and needed further clarification to make the director's point more persuasive.

First of all, It may be true that many companies were benefitted after taking the speed-reading course. But what if these companies are totally different from Acme. Maybe the other companies are such kinds of companies that actually require an extensive amount of reading (like newspaper company or publishing house) so taking the speed reading course helped them a lot, whereas Acme is a manufacturing

company where skills of the workers are much needed than their reading ability. If this is the case, then taking the speed reading course will not work for Acme as it did for other companies.

secondly, The cost of taking the course is considered low by the director. If the cost for only one employee, then it may seem a good purchase. But we don't know anything about the number of employees in the company. Maybe there are thousands of employees, spending $500 dollar for each of them will cost a lot for the company. Moreover, the course is a three-week-long course. That means employees will not be able to work full hours during those three weeks. Taking the course may actually cost way greater than what it is supposed to bring as profit.

Finally, the director recommends all the employees to take the course. We have no data about what kind of work employees do at Acme and what faction of works requires them to have speed reading capability. Maybe only 10% of the total employees actually require reading capabilities while others do tasks that are not related to reading at all. In that case, making the course compulsory for every employee would be nothing but mere wastage of time and money

To make the director's recommendation more valid and viable, he needs to provide more information about the employee's skills, what kind of jobs they are required to do, and what fraction of the employees actually need a speed-reading course. He also should keep in mind how much it would cost and what the profit might be. If these points are clarified only then the director's recommendation to the President might hold water.