Benton City residents have adopted healthier lifestyles. A recent survey of city residents shows that the eating habits of city residents conform more closely to government nutritional recommendations than they did ten years ago. During those ten years, local sales of food products containing kiran, a substance that a scientific study has shown reduces cholesterol, have increased fourfold, while sales of sulia, a food rarely eaten by the healthiest residents, have declined dramatically. Because of these positive changes in the eating habits of Benton City residents, we predict that the obesity rate in the city will soon be well below the national average.

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the prediction and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the prediction.

In the argument, the author implies that the obesity rate is going to go down as the citizens have adopted a healthier lifestyle. He backed his prediction on the survey done on the people and changes made by the citizens in their eating habits. However, his prediction is based on three unwarranted assumptions that needed to be answered to make the argument more persuasive.

First of all, The author assumes that the survey made on people is scientific and viable. It may happen that, the survey made on the people has a scientific basis at all. Maybe some random questions were asked on the social media and the authenticity of the answers may never be tested. There is a potential that few people answered those questions who actually represent only a small portion of the total population.If this is true, then the survey will be of dubious authenticity. Even if the survey is accurate, Perhaps the standard set by the government has changed a lot during the ten year period. It may have been adjusted or even declined and that's the reason behind the conformation, not that the dwellers has actually adopted a healthy eating habit. If one of the aforementioned cases are true then it will jeopardize the viability of authors argument.

Secondly, he assumes that people's eating kiran is an indication of their adoption to a healthier lifestyle which may not necessarily be the case. perhaps, they are eating more kiran as the price of other food items has gone high, or kiran is widely available. In reality, it may be the case that, They are least concerned about their eating habit and stuffing themselves with fast food than ever. Some questions may also be raised about the health benefits of kiran. The author surmises that kiran reduces cholesterol based on only one study, maybe more scientific research is needed to prove kiran's effectivity. In any of these cases, the author's argument will be less likely to hold water.

Finally, the author predicts that the obesity rate will decline below the national level as if people of Benton are the only ones who are going through this kind of change. They may not be an outlier in adopting a healthy lifestyle. Maybe the people of other cities are more concerned about a healthier lifestyle than are the people of Benton.If this is the case then the obesity rate of the Benton city may decline but not certainly below the national level.

The author's backing of his argument based on the aforementioned unwarranted claims makes his argument less genial.To make it more persuasive more study should be done on the peoples eating habit and the effectiveness of the food they are eating to maintain good health.