Evidence suggests that academic honor codes, which call for students to agree not to cheat in their

academic endeavors and to notify a faculty member if they suspect that others have cheated, are

far more successful than are other methods at deterring cheating among students at colleges and

universities. Several years ago, Groveton College adopted such a code and discontinued its old-

fashioned system in which teachers closely monitored students. Under the old system, teachers

reported an average of thirty cases of cheating per year. In the first year the honor code was in

place, students reported twenty-one cases of cheating; five years later, this figure had dropped to

fourteen. Moreover, in a recent survey, a majority of Groveton

The argument states that academic honor codes, where students agree not to cheat and expose others who do so, is more successful than the old fashioned student monitoring system. The author thinks so because according to him, such kind of approach has been proved to be successful by some surveys and evidence. But his statement is based on some unwarranted assumptions, which to make his point more valid and accepted need to be clarified.

Firstly, he mentioned about the evidence regarding the success of honor codes but provides no further information about that evidence. How the evidence was collected, who were surveyed, what kind of questions were asked or what kind of data were analyzed to gather the evidence this kind of thing was not clarified. Maybe in the process of collecting the evidence, only a handful of teachers were asked who were not sample representative of all the teachers. Maybe the evidence was true, but only for a handful of cases while most of the institutions were not actually surveyed. If this is the case, then the evidence, upon which the author built his assertion will be weak and thereby weakening the author's position as well.

Secondly, the drop in the number of students who have cheated doesn't necessarily mean that occurrences of cheating have actually reduced. since students are less dependable than teachers. In reality, it may be the case that, cheating has actually increased as teachers are not monitoring the students but the students are not exposing all the cheaters. There is a potential that students are biased in their information thereby giving a false representation of the actual scene. If something like this is happening, then, reliance on students alone would not prove to be as successful as desired.

Finally, the survey about Groveton students doesn't provide enough data. Maybe some random students were asked or they were just asked are 'are you willing to cheat or not'. In that case,'No' would be the most probable answer as people don't usually reveal their bad ambitions. So this kind of survey may not provide an actual representation of the real scenario as they are not scientific and reliable data were not taken into account.

To prove his position to be more persuasive, the author may need to back his point by some well-articulated evidence, scientific survey rather than depending on some contrived notion and interviews which can not be attributed as surveys.