In any field of endeavor, it is impossible to make a significant contribution without first being influenced by the first achievement in the field.

Success in any field of interest may be influenced by a myriad of factors. The argument states that past achievement is definitely one of the factors, undermining other factors, which have their unique effects. I mostly disagree with the argument, as throughout history, we have seen that people had made some unprecedented achievements in all fields such as science, technology, art music, etc. However, there are certainly some influences of the past achievements on people's work in some cases.

Our curious and inquisitive mind has always come up with new ideas, ideas that people have never seen before. So unique and diverse from the prevailing idea that some people were reluctant to believe them when they were first introduced. For example, from Newton’s time and around 400 years after that, Newtonian physics was the most influential form of physics that were widely accepted. People were trying to solve different problems of physics using laws discovered by Newton and his contemporaries and failed in some cases. Then it was Einstein who came up with the idea of relativity which was completely different from what our idea about physics and how physical world acts was. There was no chance that relativity and quantam physics were influenced by past discoveries as there were no such discoveries in the first place. We can see these kind of achievements in tech world also. when Steve jobs first introduced Iphone in 2007 people were astonished as they haven’t seen anything like this before. There were Nokia,Blackberry before Iphone but they were primitive compared compared to Iphone. Iphone set an standard for smartphone that was entirely a new concept.

However, in some cases past achievement may influence future work as some people are afraid to think out of the box,thinking that people will not embrace new concepts and have very little chance of being successful. For instance , when Russia sent their first space craft ‘Sputnik’ in the space ,this influenced US greatly and they also started sending out spacecrafts even humans into the space ,which eventually led to moon landing, which was one of the greatest achievement of human and science.

Even today, India,China,Japan repeatedly sending space probes to space,moon even on mars,all of which started with Soviet Union’s endeavor to explore space. If Soviet Union didn’t start their first space travel, achievements we see today,in the field of space research might not come this far, maybe who knows we would have been 50 years behind.

There are some phenomenon that propel one’s endeavor in new invention and discovery. These factors encompasses a wide range of topic such as competition,dire need to solve some real world problem, economical achievements or just that some people love to think about new ideas as we are curious by nature. Past influences certainly plays some role but it is not the only catalyst. So attributing all credits to past influences in developing something new limits the arguments persuasiveness.