Formal education tends to restrain our minds and spirits rather than set them free.

Education is one of the most important rights of human beings. Education is supposed to free our minds, create new ideas and make us complete as rational human beings. In this era, education also plays a vital role in securing a successful career and therefore needed to have a bright future. But education for the sake of career and money only may sometimes make our mind confined and work against the very goal it tries to satisfy which is to broaden our intellect. So I strongly agree with the argument that formal education restricts our minds and spirits. Education should be universal and people should be allowed to educate themselves in which they find interest. And sometimes formal education may destroy someone's potential unknowingly while it is still in the bud.

As we see the history of mankind, we see that most of the great talents of the times were mostly self-taught. Formal education did little to nothing in making of those great minds. For instance, Thomas Alva Edison who was one of the greatest inventors of all time indebted us with many scientific inventions like the light bulb, gramophone, dc current and thousands many others, were kicked out of school for being dull. His teachers thought he was not good for anything and he had no future. He didn't fail school actually, it was the formal education system that failed him. If he was like other kids in the school, passing exams, getting into universities, getting a job like millions of other people, then who knows, maybe we would never have a great inventor like him. He became successful because he managed to get out of the system early. Focusing on things of his love rather than following the age-old system of so-called education made him the wizard of Menlo Park. Again when we see in recent times, billionaire and innovator like steve jobs, Mark Zuckerberg these people were either never went to college or dropped out of universities. Their passion and love for what they do make them successful not the traditional education system. The mundane education system may produce skilled workers, law-abiding citizens but to produce leaders, out of the box thinkers it does almost nothing as it is practical life lessons which widen our minds and makes us pragmatic.

The Formal education system may sometimes work against how our mind works. Our mind works best when we think freely and there is no pressure upon us to be successful. Education should be a walk in the park rather than a tedious race in which winning is the ultimate goal. The present education system seems more like the race where only who wins will have a better life and the looser will embrace an ill fate. This kind of unhealthy race restricts our mind and makes us more like a machine. Most of the students are forced to go through the same curriculum whatever their talent and interest lie in. Some are lucky as their field of interests matches the subjects they are forced to study but not all of them have the same fate. Some people study subjects for years after years which disgusts them without knowing their true potential. Maybe the could-have-been artist is working in our office, doing normal desk jobs, where his true potential might never be revealed. Maybe we are losing the next Einstein or Picasso in the process of educating people in a categorical manner.

Some people may argue that it is not possible to design an education system which is ideal for all and it is not also possible to educate everyone individually according to the need. But here the point is, what people actually need is a free space to flower their true potential

rather than a conducive environment. Yes, it is true that an ideal environment may be of great help, but it may be a hard nut to crack to adopt a system that is conducive to everyone. So for the time being, creating some space for self-understanding, thereby reducing the tight regiment of the formal education system may be of great help.

Education designed to make our minds hungry for more knowledge and a new idea. Using education just as a tool for success(which is what formal education actually is) may work in reverse. Success should not be the ultimate goal of education. If we let education

do its job, then success will follow inevitably.