"A jazz music club in Monroe would be a tremendously profitable enterprise. Currently, the nearest

jazz club is 65 miles away; thus, the proposed new jazz club in Monroe, the C-Note, would have

the local market all to itself. Plus, jazz is extremely popular in Monroe: over 100,000 people

attended Monroe's annual jazz festival last summer; several well-known jazz musicians live in

Monroe; and the highest-rated radio program in Monroe is 'Jazz Nightly,' which airs every

weeknight at 7 P.M. Finally, a nationwide study indicates that the typical jazz fan spends close to

$1,000 per year on jazz entertainment."

The argument states a group of developers thought that a jazz club would be a profitable enterprise as there is no such jazz club nearby and people seems to like jazz music and eager enough to spend money for jazz entertainment. But their claims are based on some unwarranted assumptions, that to make their position more persuasive need to be clarified.

First, they assume that as the nearest jazz club is 65 miles away, people would go to the proposed jazz club and spend their money on entertainment. But what if the people in Monroe are not that much enthusiastic about jazz. Maybe they like jazz but not enough to spend money on it. What if there are other mediums where people can enjoy jazz music for free such as the internet or tv programs. If there are other cheap and easily accessible mediums for jazz music then people are less likely to go to the new club. In that case, a new jazz music club would not be a profitable business as it is supposed.

Secondly, It may be true that people visited the annual jazz festival but it doesn't necessarily mean that people will visit the club on a regular basis. Maybe people were drawn to the program because the artists playing there were famous. It is less probable that local artists would get such an amount of attention as the well-known artists did. And the time at which the festival took place should also be considered. Maybe the festival saw a great number of people because it was summer and most people were on vacation. The new jazz club may not be able to attract people all along the year.

Finally, the argument says about a nationwide study that indicates the popularity of jazz music but provides no further information. who were asked, what kinds of questions were asked there are no pieces of information regarding these. Maybe a bunch of people was asked on the street or online randomly who were not a sample representative for the total population. Or maybe just the jazz fans were asked during a jazz show. The survey upon which the popularity of jazz music in counted on maybe a biased or inaccurate one. So it may not

provide a clear picture of jazz music's popularity nationwide.

The group of developers needs to be more articulate and should base their claim on some well-established facts and scientifically proven survey rather than some contrived assumptions whose validity may be questioned. A robust survey about people's taste in music, their willingness to pay, the talent of the local artists may be of great help.